You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Benji Marshall turned back the clock to show off some trademark footwork before being injured against the Bulldogs.

Benji Marshall will headline St George Illawarra's team to take on South Sydney in the Charity Shield at ANZ Stadium on Saturday night.

Dragons coach Paul McGregor named a 25-man squad for the traditional pre-season clash, with Drew Hutchinson set to partner Marshall in the halves while regular captain Gareth Widdop is away on NRL All Stars duty.

Kurt Mann has been given the first chance to impress in the Red V No.1 jersey with Josh Dugan rested. New recruit Tim Lafai will partner Euan Aitken in the centres. 

"I'm really looking forward to getting back out there and competing in the Charity Shield this weekend," Marshall told

"The Dragons medical staff had opted to rest me from the Nines tournament to allow me some extra time to recover from the off-season ankle surgery but I feel fit and ready."

Dragons Team:

1. Kurt Mann
2. Peter Mata'utia
3. Tim Lafai
4. Euan Aitken
5. Jason Nightingale
6. Drew Hutchison
7. Benji Marshall
8. Leeson Ah Mau
9. Mitch Rein
10. Russell Packer
11. Jake Marketo
12. Will Matthews
13. Jack de Belin
14. Ben Creagh (c)
15. Mike Cooper
16. Dunamis Lui
17. Siliva Havili
18. Tyrone McCarthy
19. Josh McCrone
20. Kalifa Faifai Loa
21. Taane Milne
22. Adam Quinlan
23. Sebastine Ikahihifo
24. Jacob Host
25. Hame Sele

This article and video first appeared on


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners