You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Wade Graham was charged with a high tackle on Monday night.

Cronulla Sharks forward Wade Graham's State of Origin debut is in jeopardy after he was penalised for a high shot on Cowboys halfback Johnathan Thurston in the 65th minute of their Monday night encounter in Sydney.  

The 25-year-old was not placed on report by the on-field officials but the incident is sure to come under scrutiny from the match review committee. 

The tackle appeared spectacular but Thurston was able to get back to his feet straight away and convert the penalty goal before his side eventually lost the game 13-10. 

Graham found out just after the game that he had been selected to make his debut in Laurie Daley's side for Game Two of the Holden State of Origin series but his fate now lies with the review committee. 

"I haven't really thought about it too much," Graham told media after the match. 

"No doubt I'll see it replayed about 15,000 times in the next couple of days. 

"Sitting back now, it was pretty fast. I felt like maybe he slipped a little bit. It wasn't a swinging [arm]. It was a grab and I went down with him so hopefully it'll be left there. If not we'll have to take that hurdle as it comes.

"He didn't put it on report on the field. There's no use jumping up and down about something we don't know what's going to be, so what will be will be. 

"They're pretty quick these days – the match review committee – so I'm sure we'll know by tomorrow and we'll go from there."

Graham said he was more concerned about conceding two points that allowed the Cowboys to draw level late in the game than the tackle itself. 

"I was more worried about winning the game," he said. "I knew that it was a penalty and they shot the goal to even it up so I was more disappointed in that."

Thurston said he was certainly hit high but admitted that he thought it would be "pretty soft" if Graham missed an Origin game for the tackle. 

"He didn't miss me," the Maroons five-eighth said. 

"I may have been slipping but you still can't make contact with the head, can you?

"I'm not commenting on it. It's done and dusted. I've got bigger things to worry about." 

Cowboys coach Paul Green agreed. 

"There wasn't much in it. It's not really worth talking about," Green said. 

"I don't think he'll miss an Origin for that… if he gets charged." 

Sharks and Blues skipper Paul Gallen said he thought the on field decision to blow a penalty was sufficient. 

"I thought it was a grab. It wasn't a swinging arm. He didn't 'clock' him," Gallen said. 

"I think the referee summed it up best. It was a penalty and that's where it probably should stay. I know it'll be a talking point for you guys (the media) but I think JT was 100 per cent right."

It was a view shared by Sharks coach Shane Flanagan. 

"The referee didn't put it on report. He thought it was just a tackle worth a penalty so hopefully that's the case," Flanagan said. 

"Wade deserves his spot in Origin. He's worked really hard for a long period of time. [But] I don't think that's going to make too much of a difference with the review committee."

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners