You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Which State of Origin moment will be named the fans' favourite?

To celebrate the Holden State of Origin series we at are celebrating by asking fans to vote on their favourite Origin moment. 

Today, the first ever Blues win on the Origin stage goes up against the crunch conversion attempt to end them all.

First NSW win

After Queensland won the first five State of Origin shields, NSW finally won their first series by taking out Game Two in 1985 at the SCG. The Blues raced to a 12-0 lead before the Maroons hit back to take the ascendancy 14-12. Michael O'Conner kicked a penalty goal and a field goal to put NSW ahead 15-14 before Brett Kenny scored late to seal the win.

O'Connor's conversion

When Mark McGaw touched down in the right-hand corner to level the scores on a miserable night at the SFS in Game Two of 1991, NSW centre Michael O'Connor stepped up to take the shot at goal despite having relinquished the kicking duties for club side Manly, and Illawarra's goal-kicking winger Rod Wishart playing on the flank. Even though he'd only kicked two goals all year, O'Connor made no mistake in slotting the conversion as cool as you like in driving rain to secure one of the Blues' most famous wins.


Vote on more Origin moments match-ups

Full bracket: Click image below to see full version

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners