Joe Burgess no-try decision - new vision
The NRL has released new vision supporting the Joe Burgess no try decision from the Round 20 NRL Telstra Premeirship match between South Sydney and Manly at Allianz Stadium.
NRL General Manager - Officiating Tony Archer has explained the Joe Burgess no-try ruling.
"In last night's match between the Rabbitohs and Sea Eagles, the video referee overturned a try awarded to Joe Burgess by the on-field referee. The reason was that he was ruled to have lost possession of the ball prior to grounding it," Archer told NRL.com.
"In the event that a player loses possession he must regain possession by re-grip, re-catch or taking hold of the ball prior to grounding the ball.
"After bunker officials reviewed all available angles on this play, they correctly ruled that there was sufficient evidence to determine Burgess lost possession of the ball and fails to re-grip the ball before attempting to ground it.
"However, the bunker officials did not include all relevant angles in the vision provided to the broadcasters and this oversight added to the confusion over the decision.
"Transparency is an important part of the bunker operations, so it is regrettable this angle was not included in last night’s coverage."