Broncos forward Herman Ese'ese is denied a try against the Roosters in Round 21 due to a double-movement.

NRL referees boss Tony Archer has confirmed the bunker made the correct call on the Herman Ese'ese no try in the Broncos' Round 21 Telstra Premiership clash with the Roosters at Allianz Stadium on Thursday night. 

"The rules relating to this area of the game are that a try should be awarded if momentum of the tackled player carries him into the in goal. However, a tackled player should be penalised if he makes a second movement to place the ball over the line for a try," Archer told NRL.com.     

Archer went on to say that a review of all angles showed that Ese'ese's arm carrying the ball touched the ground before the try line.

"Ese'ese then used his leg to push forward towards the tryline as well as promoting the ball over the defenders. Under the rule, this constitutes a second movement," he said. 

"I understand people will debate this decision in regards to the momentum of the tackle, but the generating of the player's own momentum and promotion of the ball over a defender means that it is a no try."