You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Who are the team tipping to take out the 2016 NRL grand final?

The editorial team have covered every Telstra Premiership fixture in 2016, with just Sunday's title decider to come. The Storm and Sharks have never faced each other on grand final day, but who are the team backing to come out on top at ANZ Stadium?

Tony Webeck, Chief Qld Correspondent
Storm by 4
Clive Churchill Medal: Jesse Bromwich
First try-scorer: Kevin Proctor

My heart says Sharks but I simply can't tip against a team with Cameron Smith and Cooper Cronk pulling the strings.

Chris Kennedy, National Correspondent
Sharks by 2
Clive Churchill Medal: Michael Ennis
First try-scorer: Valentine Holmes

The experienced Storm will start deserved favourites but if Cronulla can start with a similar intensity to last week and force the Storm into chasing points – which is not their forte – they have the strength in the middle and canny football smarts in man-of-the-match candidates Ennis and James Maloney to close out a gritty win.

Jack Brady, National Correspondent
Sharks by 1
Clive Churchill Medal: Chad Townsend
First try-scorer: Sosaia Feki

The Clive Churchill Medal has been awarded because of moments rather than whole-game performances in recent years. So when Townsend slots the match-winning field goal from 30 metres out with five minutes to play, he'll be a lock for the prestigious honour. The Storm were so far from convincing last weekend and I can't see the Sharks being denied a fairytale finish.

Martin Gabor, National Correspondent
Storm by 4 (after extra-time)
Clive Churchill Medal: Cameron Smith
First try-scorer: Cameron Munster 

A decade after their first grand final under Craig Bellamy, the Storm will avenge their heartbreaking 2006 loss to confirm their status as the most dominant force of the modern era. Marika Koroibete will bid farewell to the NRL with a long-range try in extra-time, while Cameron Smith will join fellow 'Big Three' members Billy Slater (2009) and Cooper Cronk (2012) as best-on-ground in a grand final.

Dominic Brock, Production Editor
Storm by 1
Clive Churchill Medal: Cooper Cronk
First try-scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu

The start will be crucial but if this game is a close one with 10 minutes left I expect the Storm to get the job done. The Sharks were great last week but Melbourne have a slight edge in big-game experience. Cameron Smith and Cooper Cronk are the best in the business at getting into position for a field goal so I'll predict Cronk to slot the winning point if it goes down to the wire.

Andrew Bryan, Deputy Editor
Sharks by 1
Clive Churchill Medal: James Maloney
First try-scorer: Cooper Cronk

Not expecting a lot of points in this one, but think James Maloney may just get Cronulla over the line.

Adrian McMurray, Producer
Storm by 4
Clive Churchill Medal: Cameron Smith
First try-scorer: Marika Koroibete

Given Melbourne's big-game experience, and their record against Cronulla, I can't see anything other than a Storm victory on Sunday night. Cameron Smith has been at his masterful best in 2016 and should claim man-of-the-match honours in what is sure to be another special occasion at ANZ Stadium.

Corey Rosser, New Zealand Correspondent
Storm by 4
Clive Churchill Medal: Cooper Cronk
First try-scorer: Cheyse Blair 

Two quality forward packs who refuse to take a backwards step will ensure this game is neck and neck for most of the 80 minutes. But Melbourne have too much class in too many places, and you can expect that to shine through when it counts most. A try for Cooper Cronk will cap off a man-of-the-match performance.

Stephen Marson, Melbourne Correspondent
Storm by 6
Clive Churchill Medal: Cooper Cronk
First try-scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu

The ever-present Cameron Smith and Cooper Cronk led the Storm to the minor premiership despite an injury ravaged season, and there's no reason why they can't take their team to another title. The Sharks' finals campaign has arguably been more impressive than Melbourne's, but the experience of their best coupled with an exciting young brigade should just be too much for Cronulla.

Steven Ross, North Queensland Correspondent
Sharks by 4
Clive Churchill Medal: Jack Bird
First try-scorer: Jack Bird

It has been evident all year that the Sharks are made of the right stuff. Their late-season slump was a concern at the time, but these days it's almost a rite of passage for premiership teams. Cronulla will pack half a century of energy into this one and win the contact battle in a faster game than many expect. Shifting it through hands is the best way to make yards against the Storm, so the Jack Birds and Wade Grahams will get their share of early ball.

Eden Richards, Queensland Correspondent
Storm by 8
Clive Churchill Medal: Jesse Bromwich
First try-scorer: Cooper Cronk 

Craig Bellamy and Cameron Smith are the ultimate professionals and they will mastermind another Storm grand final victory. This will be a decider won in the middle of the park and you can expect Smith to control the speed of the play the ball for the full 80 minutes. Jesse Bromwich will thrive against a big Sharks forward pack - supplying superior field position for his outside backs to strike.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners