You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Frank Pritchard will lead Samoa against Tonga in the 2016 Pacific Test.

Samoa will host a historic Test match against Fiji in Apia on October 8 – Samoa's first official Test match on home soil.

The announcement was made by ARLC Chairman and RLIF Deputy Chairman John Grant, alongside Rugby League Samoa Chairman and Asia Pacific Rugby League Confederation Chairman Tagaloa Faafouina Su'a, and the Fiji Rugby League Chairman Filimoni Vosarogo.

Along with supporting the match financially, the NRL will also provide one of its leading NRL referees along with senior staff and management.

Mr Grant said it was a fitting way for Samoa to celebrate 30 years of Rugby League in the country.

"The Pacific is a region we will continue to support," Mr Grant said.

"Our League Bilong Laif program in PNG and the Pacific Outreach Program in Samoa, Fiji and Tonga have been enormously successful, and are now delivered by 50 full and part time staff across PNG, Samoa, Fiji and Tonga.

"Today's Pacific Double Header showcases the talent in the region and the fact that Samoa will now host a Rugby League Test will continue to grow the game."

Rugby League Samoa Chairman Tagaloa Faafouina Su'a said he was delighted to celebrate 30 years of Rugby League in Samoa by hosting a Test match.

"We have come a long way in 30 years," he said.

"I'd like to thank our patron, Prime Minister Tuilaepa Aiono Sailele Malielegaoi, and his Government, for their ongoing support.

"With the Pacific Outreach Program now embedded in our schools, and now a Test match in Samoa to look forward to, the game will continue to grow."

The game will be live on Fox Sports 507 viewer's choice at 1.40pm AEDT on Saturday, and will be replayed on Fox Sports 3 at 7.30pm AEDT on Saturday night.


Bunty Afoa, Warriors

Leeson Ah Mau, St George Illawarra Dragons

Erin Clark, Warriors (NYC)

Raymond Faitala Mariner, Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs

James Gavet, Warriors

Pita Godinet, Manly Sea Eagles

Sam Kasiano, Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs

Tim Lafai, St George Illawarra Dragons

Sam Lisone, Warriors

Mason Lino, Warriors (NYC)

Ken Maumalo, Warriors

David Nofoaluma, Wests Tigers

Junior Paulo, Canberra Raiders

Kaysa Pritchard, Parramatta Eels

Denny Solomona, Castleford

Sauaso Su’e, Wests Tigers

Matthew Wright, Manly Sea Eagles

Coach – Matt Parish 


Kane Evans, Sydney Roosters

Erevonu (Tui) Kamikamica, Melbourne Storm

Viliame Kikau, Penrith Panthers

Apisai Koroisau, Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Saimoni Lomaloma, Fiji

Sitiveni Moceidreke, North Sydney Bears

Marcello Montoya, Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs

Petero (Ben) Nakubuwai, Melbourne Storm

Kevin Naiqama, Wests Tigers © 

Tyrone Phillips, Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs

Henry Raiwalui, Wentworthville Magpies

Vitale Roqica, Cronulla Sharks

Pio Seci, Fiji

Korbin Sims, Newcastle Knights

James Storer, Port Kembla - Illawarra

Eloni Vunakece, Sydney Roosters

Brayden Wiliame, Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Coach – Mick Potter


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners