You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboys lock Jason Taumalolo against the Dragons in Round 12.

After winning the Dally M Medal alongside Cooper Cronk, it was perhaps no surprise that North Queensland lock Jason Taumalolo was also named the Cowboys' player of the year, taking out the Paul Bowman Medal at the club's annual awards night.

Taumalolo, 23, enjoyed a stellar campaign where he scored six tries, averaged over 164 metres and 24 tackles per game. His efforts were also recognised by his teammates, collecting the players' player of the year award.

Cowboys award winners 

It was a night for forwards as the Rabbitohs and Dragons also named their best for the year. Sam Burgess clinched his second George Piggins Medal as Souths' best and fairest after first winning the prize in the club's successful 2014 campaign. 

Rabbitohs award winners

It was a similar story across town as the Red V named dynamic back-rower Tyson Frizell as their player of the year, a fitting reward for a season which saw the Corrimal Cougars junior earn NSW and Australia selection. 

Dragons award winners

Darius Boyd was named as Brisbane's player of the year, establishing himself as Queensland and Australia's first-choice fullback in 2016.

Broncos award winners


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners