You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tyson Frizell will back up for the Dragons against the Knights after State of Origin II.

Kangaroos forward Tyson Frizell will captain the Dragons for the first time at the Downer NRL Auckland Nines tournament at Eden Park on February 4 and 5. 

Dragons coach Paul McGregor named an 18-man squad on Wednesday which will see a mixture of the Dragons' youth and experience play in the tournament.

Frizell will be joined by other established first-graders Jack de Belin, Tariq Sims, Will Matthews, Kurt Mann and Joel Thompson, while Cameron McInnes and Nene Macdonald will don a Dragons jumper for the first time.

Like Frizell, Euan Aitken will back up from the recent Four Nations tournament to take his place in Auckland.

"It's an honour to captain the club at the Auckland Nines tournament. It's very special and I'm very happy to have the role," Frizell said.

"We have a very young squad so I'm looking forward to a good weekend at the Nines."

The Dragons will face off against the New Zealand Warriors, North Queensland Cowboys and the Manly-Waringah Sea Eagles in the Piha Pool.

Dragons' Auckland Nines squad
1. Patrick Herbert
2. Nene Macdonald
3. Euan Aitken
4. Levi Dodd
5. Kalifa Faifai Loa
7. Kurt Mann
8. Siliva Havili
9. Cameron McInnes
10. Luciano Leilua
11. Tyson Frizell (c)
12. Joel Thompson
13. Jack de Belin
14. Tariq Sims
15. Taane Milne
16. Shaun Nona
17. Will Matthews
18. Matt Dufty
21. Jai Field

Read the full story at

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners