You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dragons legend, Team of the Century member and rugby league Immortal Reg Gasnier has passed away one day shy of his 75th birthday.

They hold the most vaunted place in our game but do our current crop of NRL stars know who all eight of our Immortals are? And who is their pick to be the ninth?

Anthony Don (Titans)

Joey Johns, Wally Lewis, Clive... The small little fullback for Souths, Clive Churchill! Is Norm Provan one? Summons? Beetson. Langlands. Gasnier. That's all I've got. The next immortal should be either Cameron Smith or Johnathan Thurston for mine.

Nathaniel Roache (Warriors)

I actually have no idea… Wally Lewis and Andrew Johns. There's two, but that's it. For the next one selected I'd probably go Johnathan Thurston. Based on what I have watched he would definitely deserve it. Also Darren Lockyer.

Darius Boyd (Broncos)

Wally, Mal, Joey, Langlands. Raper? Churchill. Dally Messenger? Is Arthur one? I wasn't sure. Do you have to be retired for a certain number of years to be considered? I'd have to say 'Locky' (Darren Lockyer) should be next. JT and Smithy will be after that but for what Locky did, how many records he holds, games he's played, changing positions, winning comps and everything I'd have to say Locky.

Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)

Joey, John Raper... I haven't got a clue! Is Wally Lewis one? Clive Churchill and Arthur Beetson. That's all I've got.

Kane Elgey (Titans)

I'm no chance. Did Andrew Johns just get named one? Wally Lewis. Darren Lockyer? I've got no idea. Darren Lockyer's my favourite player so I thought he would be one so he's my pick to be next. And obviously Thurston when he retires.

Ben Matulino (Warriors)

Joey Johns. Mal Meninga? Brad Fittler? Wally Lewis! That's all I've got. The next one they pick should be Simon Mannering.

Matt Eisenhuth (Wests Tigers)

Joey, Wally, Churchill... that's all I've got!

Rugby league's eight Immortals to date are Clive Churchill, Bob Fulton, Reg Gasnier, Graeme Langlands, Johnny Raper, Arthur Beetson, Wally Lewis and Andrew Johns.



Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners