You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tigers captain Russell Packer leads celebrations after beating the Storm.

The Wests Tigers were penalised 18 times in their thrilling 10-8 win over the Storm at AAMI Park on Saturday night – the most penalties against one team in a match in the period Stats has penalty counts recorded.

Despite the lopsided 18-8 count (and losing a player to the sin bin for a second straight week), the Tigers rallied to score a late match-winning try.

From 2002 to now – the period we have match-by-match penalty data – the previous record was the 17 conceded by Cronulla in a horror 74-4 loss to the Eels in 2003, in which David Peachey was sin-binned then sent off, Danny Nutley was sin-binned and Dale Newton also sent off.

However that match appears to be an outlier, with four of the six most-penalised clubs going on to win their games.

Aside from the Tigers' victory last week, the Titans (twice) and Eels have won games despite conceding 15 penalties.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners