You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Blues centre Corban McGregor.

The Sydney Roosters have been dealt an early blow to their women's Holden NRL Premiership campaign with NSW centre Corban McGregor ruled out for the remainder of the season with a shoulder injury.

McGregor left the field with a shoulder dislocation in NSW's 16-10 win over Queensland after a tackle on Maroons fullback Chelsea Baker with the injury requiring treatment to be popped back before halftime.

Scans confirmed the talented outside back requires surgery in a cruel setback for the 24-year-old after she recently signed a contract with the Tricolours as one of 15 marquee players announced before the Origin fixture.

It's understood the Roosters will seek clarification from the NRL on their options after already filling their maximum 15-marquee player quota with McGregor's inclusion.

Meanwhile, the Blues may have won the inaugural women's Holden State of Origin on Friday night but Queensland have taken out a consolation prize with nine Maroons players named in a Jillaroos merit team acknowledging the standout performances from both sides in the historic contest.

Maroons prop Heather Ballinger.
Maroons prop Heather Ballinger. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos

The merit team was judged by Australian selectors including Jillaroos coach Brad Donald, who will use the Origin fixture and upcoming NRL competition to select a national side for an end-of-season Test match against New Zealand in October.

Isabelle Kelly was included in the centres after a player of the match performance for the Blues, while Maroons skipper Karina Brown, who crossed for a double in a beaten side, was named on the wing.

Queensland's Ali Brigginshaw edged Blues skipper Maddie Studdon for the halfback spot.

With a national peak audience of one million viewers on Friday night, the game finished with an average 700,000 viewers in both regional and metropolitan areas across Australia.

Reynolds praises Women's Origin success

"We're really happy, it's excellent numbers and so exciting to have the game profiled on the best," NRL Senior Manager of the Women's Elite Program Tiffany Slater told

"The on-field performance from the girls stood out to a lot of new and existing fans, the feedback from everyone has been positive which is what we wanted.

"They were so impressed and interested in what was next which is what we want to see."


The 2018 Harvey Norman Jillaroos Merit Team:

3. Isabelle KELLY (NSW)
4. Amelia KUK (QLD)
5. Karina BROWN (QLD)
6. Lavina O'MEALEY (NSW)
8. Simaima TAUFA (NSW)
9. Brittany BREAYLEY (QLD)
10. Heather BALLINGER (QLD)
11. Tazmin GRAY (QLD)
12. Kezie APPS (NSW)
13. Annette BRANDER (QLD)

14. Chelsea BAKER (QLD)
15. Steph HANCOCK (QLD)
16. Vanessa FOLIAKI (NSW)
17. Elianna WALTON (NSW)

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners