You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

NRL Holden Women's Premiership: rules and matches summary

The NRL Holden Women's Premiership kicks off this week, coinciding as double-headers with select NRL Telstra Premiership Finals matches throughout September.

The Sydney Roosters will take on the New Zealand Warriors on Saturday afternoon (8 September) at ANZ Stadium in Sydney, whilst the Brisbane Broncos will play the St George-Illawarra Dragons on Sunday afternoon (9 September) at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

NRL Senior Manager of Women's Elite Programs, Tiffany Slater confirmed a majority of rules and regulations would remain the same as the men's game.

"However, as the women's premiership tagline suggests – 'Same Game. Our Way' – there are a few differences that have been backed by our players and designed to deliver creativity, unpredictability and importantly, player wellbeing," Ms Slater said.

Key similarities between the men's and women's matches include:

Officiating (two on-field referees, in addition to the use of The Bunker)

Judiciary procedures

Shot clocks

Injury Surveillance, including the management of head injuries and / or concussion

Team List timing announcements

Key differences to the NRL Holden Women's Premiership include:

Duration of matches: 60 minutes of regular time (two 30 minutes halves)

Interchanges: a total of 10 in regular time (with two interchanges available in the case of Golden Point)

40/30 kick advantage: providing for tactical kicking and unpredictability during matches

For matches other than the Grand Final, in the event of a draw at the conclusion of regular time, Golden Point will apply, with a maximum of five minutes each way and the first team to score will win.

If neither team scores during Golden Point, a draw will be awarded.

In the case of a requirement for Golden Point in the Grand Final, five minutes extra time each way will be played (regardless of how many points are scored). If, after 70 minutes, the game remains a draw, unlimited Golden Point will be played, with no change of ends or time limit, until a point is scored to determine the winner.

Each team will play each other once throughout the competition, with two games per round.

The top two teams will face off against each other on NRL Grand Final day, 30 September.

Tickets for NRL Holden Women's Premiership matches are available at

Further information on all NRL Holden Women's Premiership matches is available at

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners