You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Grand Final medal for the inaugural NRL Holden Women's Premiership has been named in honour of Jillaroos and Queensland legend, Karyn Murphy.

Ms Murphy, a current member of the Australian and Queensland coaching staff, was overwhelmed by the news, paying tribute to the many players whom she played alongside and against.

"This is an incredible honour and I'm grateful for the experiences that rugby league has afforded me," Ms Murphy said.

"I've loved this game for as long as I can remember and I'm so proud of all those who have paved the way to make possible opportunities like the Premiership that is about to commence.

"Women's Rugby League – whether you're a fan or a participant – is on an upwards trajectory and this first ever Premiership year is such an exciting time for everyone that has ever been involved in our game.

"I wish every team the very best and I look forward to being there on Grand Final day to cheer the teams on and present the medal to the inaugural winner."

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg joined NRL staff, together with past and current players in congratulating Karyn on the news.

"Karyn is not only a much respected member of our staff at the NRL, but she is also a caring mentor to many and an incredible athlete," Mr Greenberg said.

"Karyn is without doubt a very worthy recipient for the Grand Final medal to be named after and whoever plays well enough to receive this medal in the future will be a special player in their own right."

A proud Queenslander, Murphy played in the inaugural Interstate Challenge match between Queensland and New South Wales in 1999 and helped her state achieve an unrivalled 16 consecutive wins against New South Wales.

Murphy also played 27 matches for Australia with an impressive 17 of 27 matches as captain.

Of the 147 past and present Jillaroos players (up to 2018) to have played for their country, 14 were considered for the naming of the Grand Final medal, having played 15 Test Matches or more.

Murphy was a deserving winner after receiving the most votes from amongst the 14 Jillaroos in contention, and was also considered by an independent panel, who were unanimous in their support.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners