You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Australian Jillaroos coach Brad Donald said form in the NRL Holden Women's Premiership was the major factor in the decision-making process with six debutantes named in the Jillaroos squad for a Test match against New Zealand in Auckland on October 13.

Donald left out incumbent World Cup winners Ruan Sims and Karina Brown, while Meg Ward, Nakia Davis-Welsh, Caitlin Moran and Corban McGregor are all unavailable through injury.

Experienced campaigners Lavina O'Mealey and Renae Kunst have retired but Queensland veterans Steph Hancock and Heather Ballinger will don the green and gold jersey for at least one more time in their careers.

Donald said both Sims and Brown had suffered injury setbacks this season and were not at their usual standards in the NRLW competition.

Sims, arguably the most recognised player in the women's game, returned in round two for the Roosters after missing State of Origin with a broken wrist.

Big names miss out on Jillaroos call up

Donald added a changing of the guard was underway with a crop of youth coming through the women's rugby league system but expected Sims to bounce back next year.

"There's some notable players that missed out on the squad and it was based on form and exposure to players we haven't seen before," Donald said.

"We spoke as a group, in the last World Cup squad there were five front-row players that were 35 years of age.

"A couple of those are transitioning out and a couple are hanging around so we put them on notice and said we'd have to pick on form and bring in some fresh blood.

Match Highlights: Broncos v Roosters -NRLW Grand Final - 2018

"I think Ru worked really hard to make it back for the NRLW. She didn't play from May. Sometimes the 60 minutes and 10 interchanges has made it hard for those ladies. You'll see a bigger, better and fitter Ru next year."

Six fresh faces, including Broncos winger sensation Julia Robinson, are in line for an international debut.

Robinson will join Tazmin Gray, Keeley Davis, Jess Sergis, Holli Wheeler and Hannah Southwell in the new-look squad.

The Broncos winger was picked up by the Broncos at the Harvey Norman National Championships in June after standing out for the Australian Defence Force team.

She has less than 12 months experience in the game after playing rugby union.

"The NRLW competition has brought out a whole breed of players," Donald said.

"It helps us with advocacy around multiple sports. I think Julia has picked up our game and is one of those players that will play at the highest level for a long time to come."

Sydney Roosters pair Isabelle Kelly and Simaima Taufa have been included despite battling MCL injuries with Donald expecting both women to play.

Dragons fullback Sam Bremner will captain the side after missing last year's World Cup campaign through injury.

Broncos lift inaugural Holden Women's Premiership trophy

Jillaroos squad
Kezie Apps (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Chelsea Baker (Brisbane Broncos)
Heather Ballinger (Brisbane Broncos)
Annette Brander (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Brittany Breayley (Brisbane Broncos)
Samantha Bremner (Captain) (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Ali Brigginshaw (Brisbane Broncos)
Keeley Davis (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Tazmin Gray (Sydney Roosters)
Steph Hancock (Brisbane Broncos)
Isabelle Kelly (Sydney Roosters)
Julia Robinson (Brisbane Broncos)
Jess Sergis (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Hannah Southwell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Simaima Taufa (Sydney Roosters)
Zahara Temara (Sydney Roosters)
Eliana Walton (Sydney Roosters)
Holli Wheeler (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners