You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Brisbane five-eighth Anthony Milford.

On the back of a season where his kicking game improved out of sight, Broncos five-eighth Anthony Milford has won the prestigious Paul Morgan Medal for Brisbane's player of the year.

Milford was presented with the medal for the first time at the Broncos presentation night on Saturday after accumulating 40 points in a voting system judged after each match by players and the club's coaching staff.

Milford edged out prop Matt Lodge (39 points) and forwards Joe Ofahengaue (37), Josh McGuire (37) and Tevita Pangai jnr (36).

The Paul Morgan Medal was instituted in 1988 when it was first won by Allan Langer, who went on to receive the gong for a record five times.

The 24-year-old Milford left no stone unturned in his quest to improve his kicking and game management in 2018 and came into Brisbane HQ on his days off to work on all aspects of his game. That also included sessions at the Brisbane Lions indoor facility where he fine-tuned his kicking skills.

Milford underwent shoulder surgery last month after subluxing his shoulder early in the 48-16 win over Manly in round 25, and then bravely playing on to set up victory and secure a home final. He backed up in the semi-final loss to the Dragons the following week under duress. Milford will undergo a five-month rehabilitation process but is expected to line up in round one in 2019.

Broncos hooker Brittany Breayley.
Broncos hooker Brittany Breayley. ©Scott Davis/NRL Photos

Tongan international Ofahengaue took out the players' player award while Lodge, in his first season at the Broncos, was adjudged best forward. The club's leading try scorer Corey Oates took home the best back trophy and the XXXX fan award, while winger Jamayne Isaako backed up his Dally M rookie of the year award to also win the Broncos' rookie of the year and the play of the year trophies.

Veteran forward Alex Glenn won the most consistent player of the season award.

The Broncos' champion NRLW side was also recognised on Saturday night with hooker Brittany Breayley taking out the inaugural NRLW player of the year and best forward award. Five-eighth Kimiora Nati was players' player and best back.

Broncos' wellbeing and education manager Adam Walsh was the 2018 clubman of the year.

Milford and Oates received special presentations for bringing up their 100th club games for the Broncos during the season while retiring 2006 premiership winner Sam Thaiday received acknowledgement for becoming the third Bronco to reach the magic 300-game milestone.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners