You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NSW Origin forward Hannah Southwell.

Australian Jillaroos representative Hannah Southwell will move to the Sydney Roosters in 2019 after agreeing to a one-year deal with the club.

The former Newcastle Jets goalkeeper played for St George Illawarra in the inaugural NRLW season but shifts north to Bondi along with halfback Melanie Howard, who has also left the Red V. 

Southwell, who will play for NSW in Friday night's women's Holden State of Origin clash at North Sydney Oval, made her Jillaroos debut last season to cap off a stellar 12 months. 

The underrated forward was part of a 14-player announcement by the Tricolours on Thursday, with 11 retained from last year's squad so far.

Golden boot winner Isabelle Kelly and Origin representatives Karina Brown, Vanessa Foliaki, Corban McGregor, Shontelle Stowers and Simaima Taufa will all return to the club in 2019. 

Roosters centre Isabelle Kelly.
Roosters centre Isabelle Kelly. ©Robb Cox/NRL Photos

Injured Queensland playmaker Zahara Temara, Ruan Sims, Quincy Dodd and New Zealand Kiwi Ferns representative Nita Maynard have also committed to the Tricolours for a further season. 

"It's great to welcome back a number of key members from our founding squad, and to welcome some talented new faces to the Roosters as well," recruitment guru Craig Walker said.

"We worked hard to develop a strong culture in a short space of time last year, and we are looking forward to building on that this year.

"A lot of hard work has been going on at the club over the past few months to ensure that we are well-placed for the start of the NRL Women's Premiership."

Among the fresh faces include NSW five-eighth Kirra Dibb, who has capped off a stellar six months returning to the game with her performances playing for North Sydney, and Shanice Parker, a rugby sevens convert who represented NSW City at the recent National Championships in June.

The Tricolours will be coached by former NRL mentor Rick Stone in 2019 after he replaced Adam Hartigan in May.

Squads for the second NRLW season will be finalised by July 1.

Roosters: Karina Brown, Kirra Dibb, Quincy Dodd, Vanessa Foliaki, Melanie Howard, Isabelle Kelly, Nita Maynard, Corban McGregor, Shanice Parker, Ruan Sims, Hannah Southwell, Shontelle Stowers, Zahara Temara, Simaima Taufa.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners