You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Johnathan Thurston

On this day, Johnathan Thurston and Arthur Beetson were among several of the game's greats named in the Indigenous Team of the Century and the Little Master, Clive Churchill, passed away.


Allan McMahon is born in Wollongong. McMahon played 150 games for Balmain, Newtown and Canberra, and also represented Australia five times. He coached at Canberra, Newcastle and Illawarra. McMahon passed away in 2003.


Death of champion Australian fullback Clive Churchill. With Souths, NSW and Australia, he performed magnificent deeds. He played 157 club games, 37 times for NSW, an incredible 91 times for Australia (including 34 Tests and three World Cup games) — 298 games in all. He then went on to coach South Sydney to four premierships in five years (1967, 1968, 1970 and 1971). One of the game's four original Immortals, Churchill was farewelled by a huge crowd of mourners at his funeral at Sydney’s St Marys’ Cathedral.


Contemporary NRL stars Johnathan Thurston, Sam Thaiday and Greg Inglis are named in Australian rugby league’s Indigenous Team of the Century. The team named in Brisbane is: Eric Simms; Lionel Morgan, Steve Renouf, Greg Inglis, Dale Shearer; Laurie Daley, Johnathan Thurston; Sam Backo, Mal Cochrane, Arthur Beetson, Gorden Tallis, Sam Thaiday, Cliff Lyons. Reserves: 'George Green, Wally McArthur, Frank Fisher, John Ferguson.

Former Maroons and Kangaroos centre Dale Shearer.
Former Maroons and Kangaroos centre Dale Shearer. ©NRL Photos


Parramatta fullback Jarryd Hayne crosses for the 100th try of his career as the Eels continue their charge for the finals with an 18-10 defeat of Canberra at Darwin’s TIO Stadium.


Former Test star Valentine Holmes plays his first practice game for the New York Jets. Holmes makes two runs of more than 10 metres after being thrown into the game against the New York Giants in the final quarter.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.