You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The Broncos celebrate their NRLW grand final win.

Brisbane Broncos will ramp up preparations for their Holden Women's Premiership defence with a trial match against the Papua New Guinea Orchids at Oil Search National Football Stadium on Saturday.

The reigning champions will field a new-look squad for the 2019 season but have managed to keep a strong core group led by the likes of Ali Brigginshaw, Chelsea Baker and Stephanie Hancock.

Broncos coach Kelvin Wright has named a squad of 22 but several players remain in the rehabilitation group as they make their way back from injury.

Maroons representatives Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Meg Ward and Tazmin Gray are on their way back from leg setbacks, while Chelsea Baker was a welcome sight  on the training paddock this week after ankle surgery following Origin in June. 

Australian Jillaroos winger Julia Robinson is also on track to be available for the side's round one fixture in a fortnight after a long-term lay-off from a broken leg.

The Broncos have maintained a strong partnership with PNG rugby league since winning a licence to play in the NRLW more than 18 months ago.

Heather Ballinger hits it up for the Broncos.
Heather Ballinger hits it up for the Broncos.

The team will travel around Port Moresby and conduct community skills clinics as part of their three-day tour beginning on Friday. 

"It's good to finally be able to run out and play a game, we have got a few injuries so it's a big opportunity for the new and some of or younger players," Wright told

"The Orchids have put together a great team and any chance to put together what you've been practising we'll take at this point.

"It's a busy schedule with a couple of functions to attend but great to be able to spend some time in PNG ahead of the NRLW season.

"All the players are coming off big seasons so we've just got to make sure we get a lot of the girls right but everything has been going along well."

Broncos: Tarryn Aiken, Chelsea Baker, Heather Ballinger, Millie Boyle, Annette Brander, Ali Brigginshaw, Jessika Elliston, Lavinia Gould, Tazmin Gray, Amber Hall, Steph Hancock, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Taylor Mapusua, Raecene McGregor, Rona Peters, Amber Pilley, Julia Robinson, Mariah Storch, Amy Turner, Tamika Upton, Rosemary Vaimili Toalepai, Meg Ward.

Orchids: Carol Francis, Jacobeth Wake, Lancy Laki, Joyce Waula, Catherine Anjo, Heather Ario  Lila Malabag, Elsie Albert, Shirley Joe, Carol Humeu, Vero Waula, Shirley Jerry, Janet Johns, Roswita Kapo, Winnie Steven, Gloria Kaupa, Samantha Kuman, Joan Kuman, Elizabeth Paisoi, Lydia Luke, Belinda Waula.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners