You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
September 8: Fitting farewell for Bedsy; NRLW kicks off in style

On this day, St George show true grit to win the first of their record 11 premierships in a row, Danny Buderus farewells Hunter Stadium in style and the first ever NRLW match is played.


A man down after centre Merv Lees breaks a collarbone, St George display strength and character to down Balmain 18-12 in the grand final, before a record premiership crowd of 61,987. They don’t know it at the time, but it is the beginning of a dream run for the Red V.


Penrith advance to their second grand final in as many years when they down Norths 16-14 in the major semi-final.


The Warriors claim the minor premiership in remarkable circumstances after St George Illawarra topple Newcastle 40-22 at Aussie Stadium. The relegation of the Bulldogs and losses to both Brisbane and Newcastle allow the Warriors to take the $100,000 minor premiership prizemoney on for-and-against differences.

Logan Swann on the charge for the Warriors in 2002.
Logan Swann on the charge for the Warriors in 2002.


Tony Kemp is sacked as coach of the Warriors and replaced by former Manly, Norths, Roosters and Auckland player Ivan Cleary.


Newcastle open the final series with a 25-18 defeat of Manly at EnergyAustralia Stadium but a dangerous throw by hooker Danny Buderus on Manly winger Michael Robertson jeopardises his team’s premiership hopes. Buderus later receives a six-match suspension and then calls for reform of the judicial process after his unblemished record over 10 years counts for nothing.


Jarryd Hayne’s withering late-season run of form with Parramatta earns him the Dally M award from North Queensland captain Johnathan Thurston and St George Illawarra’s Jamie Soward.


Newcastle trounce Parramatta 54-6 at Hunter Stadium to give local hero Danny Buderus the perfect send-off at his home ground.

The NRL confirm that an historic finals series double-header will be played on September 15 at Allianz Stadium. It will be the first finals double-header since 1935.


The Warriors and the Sydney Roosters make history when they kick off the inaugural NRL Women’s Premiership at ANZ Stadium. The Warriors prove too strong in a 10-4 victory. Warriors winger Hilda Mariu scores the opening try.

The Warriors women's team celebrate beating the Roosters.
The Warriors women's team celebrate beating the Roosters. ©Robb Cox/NRL Photos


St George Illawarra announce former Brisbane and Penrith mentor Anthony Griffin as head coach on a two-year deal with a one-year option in the club’s favour.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners