The Red-V brigade

On this day, the Red-V reign ends; Andrew Johns wins a third Dally M; and the Newcastle Knights announce Nathan Brown is joining the Hunter club as head coach.


After 11 straight premierships, the St George era finally comes to an end when Saints are beaten 12-11 by Canterbury in the preliminary final. The downfall is plotted by former Saint Kevin Ryan, captain-coach of Canterbury. "I don’t like seeing them go down," Ryan said. "I am so proud to have shared in their era."


Greg Alexander scores a stunning 22 points as the Panthers up-end Canberra 30-12 in extra-time in the major semi-final to move into the club’s first grand final.


Newcastle captain Andrew Johns creates history by winning the Dally M Medal for a third time. On the same day, rugby league’s six Immortals, Clive Churchill, Johnny Raper, Reg Gasnier, Bob Fulton, Graeme Langlands and Wally Lewis are the first inductees into the game’s new Hall of Fame.


For the second time - the first being 1987 - the Dally M awards night is cancelled after club CEOs agreed with the NRL that the players needed to submit a complete list of demands before negotiations for a Collective Bargaining Agreement could resume.

Former Manly captain and halfback Matt Orford
Former Manly captain and halfback Matt Orford ©NRL Photos


Manly halfback Matt Orford is named Dally M Player of the Year, with Melbourne’s Billy Slater missing out on the top award because of a one-match suspension served during the season. Slater went on to win the medal in 2011.


The Newcastle Knights officially confirm that Nathan Brown will coach the club for the next two seasons, taking over from Danny Buderus, who had the reins for a year after Wayne Bennett left in 2014.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.