You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tedesco wins back-to-back Brad Fittler Medals

Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues fullback James Tedesco has continued his outstanding season after becoming the first player in history to claim back-to-back Brad Fittler Medals.

Tedesco was presented with his medal by Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues coach Brad Fittler in front of more than 550 guests at The Star Event Centre on a night that recognised the achievements of players across all NSWRL teams and competitions.

On a memorable night for the NSW No.1, he was also a landslide winner for The Daily Telegraph’s People’s Choice Award while winger Josh Addo-Carr claimed the True Blue award for displaying qualities on which the team ethos is built.

Tedesco ran for more metres (695) and had more tackle-breaks (19) than any other player during the series. He also made four line-breaks and scored two tries – including the match-winner to seal the series win in the Game Three decider – and was named the Wally Lewis Medallist.

While True Blue Jarryd Hayne won the Brad Fittler Medal multiple times (2007, 2009, 2014), Tedesco becomes the first player to win it back-to-back since it was first awarded in 2005. He is also the first player to win two major awards in the same year.

Other players to have won the Brad Fittler Medal include True Blues Steve Menzies (2006), Danny Buderus (2008), Paul Gallen (2011), Robbie Farah (2012), Josh Dugan (2015) and David Klemmer (2017).

“This is an unbelievable honour and it’s a very humbling experience for me to win back-to-back Brad Fittler Medals,” Tedesco said.

“I’d also like to thank all the fans for voting for me as the People’s Choice winner because they’re the ones who drive me to perform at the highest level.

“I love pulling on the sky blue jersey and playing alongside so many great players and in front of so many passionate NSW supporters.

“It was such an awesome feeling to win the decider in Sydney and I was so proud of the way the boys dug deep to defend the Shield.”

Other winners included Simaima Taufa being named the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s State Player of the Year and South Sydney Rabbitohs captain Billy Brittain being named the Canterbury Cup NSW Player of the Year.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners