You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Taumalolo claims fourth Paul Bowman Medal

Jason Taumaolo has tonight joined Johnathan Thurston as the only players North Queensland Toyota Cowboys history to win four Paul Bowman Medals.

Taumalolo is the first to claim the award in four consecutive seasons – a run which began in 2016.

The 26-year-old superstar enjoyed another historic season in 2019, despite missing significant time through injury for the first time in more than five years.

Taumalolo averaged an extraordinary 197 running metres per game, which was comfortably the most of any forward in the NRL and trailed only fullbacks Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and James Tedesco for the most in the competition.

He also led the Cowboys in tackle-breaks, offloads, runs and post-contact metres.

The Tongan wrecking ball produced two of the finest individual performances by a forward in recent memory in 2019.

He began the season with a mammoth 286-metre effort in a victory over St George Illawarra, which also included a try assist, two line-breaks and seven tackle breaks.

Taumalolo trumped that performance with an incredible 311-metre masterclass from an almost unfathomable 33 runs in Round 13 against Manly.

Other award recipients:

Presenting 2019 Cowboy of the Year

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners