You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

An NRLW Players' Champion award will be presented at the annual ceremony on October 14 following a decision by the Rugby League Players Association.

The men's RLPA Players' Champion has been awarded to an NRL player each year since 2004 and designed to acknowledge the most outstanding player  as voted by their peers.

The women's voting system will mirror the men's Players' Champion award.

Previously, the RLPA recognised its female membership at the event through the Elite Female Player of the Year, which was based only on representative fixtures.

The timing of The Players' Champion event this year, a week following the NRLW and NRL grand finals, meant that the women's competition could be included in the awards given the conclusion of the season.

"Ensuring that we properly acknowledge the performances of our members competing in the Women's Premiership is important for the RLPA," CEO Ian Prendergast said.

Apps confident Dragons will bounce back quickly

"We are excited to introduce the NRLW Players' Champion award this year, which will crown the best player from the competition, as voted by players."

NRLW players will be given a window to vote for opposition players on a 3-2-1 basis following the completion of round three on September 30.

Every NRLW player is eligible to vote and be nominated for if they feature in at least one match for their club.

Bartlett buzzing after NRLW debut

Under the rules, a player cannot vote for another player at the same club.

The top five players nominated will receive public recognition before the winner is announced at The Players' Champion ceremony, held at Foxtel on Oxford.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners