You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
October 2: Benji's flick; Teddy's medal; Sharks' drought breaker

On this day, James Tedesco took the game's ultimate prize, Andrew 'Bobcat' Ryan achieved a rare feat, while Benji Marshall etched his name into grand final folklore. 


English champions Wigan thump Winfield Cup premiers Penrith 21-4 in the World Club Challenge match at Liverpool’s Anfield Stadium.


Australia open the Kangaroo tour with a 52-8 mauling of Cumbria at Workington.


Sea Eagles star Tom Trbojevic is born in Sydney. 'Tommy Turbo' debuted with Manly in 2015 and has also represented NSW and Australia. In 2021 he took home the Dally M Medal as the game's best player.


The Australian Rugby League inducts Dally Messenger, Dave Brown, Arthur Beetson, Wally Prigg, Mal Meninga and Keith Holman into the game’s Hall of Fame.

Keith Holman (left) discusses tactics with five eighth Colin Geelan before a Test against New Zealand, 1952.
Keith Holman (left) discusses tactics with five eighth Colin Geelan before a Test against New Zealand, 1952.


Second-rower Andrew Ryan is officially named as captain of the Bulldogs’ grand final team following the withdrawal of Steve Price. He becomes the first player to make his debut as captain in a premiership-decider since Ray Stehr at Easts in 1935.


Benji Marshall and Pat Richards combine for one of the great grand final tries as Wests Tigers triumph 30-16 over North Queensland in the NRL grand final. Tigers halfback Scott Prince wins the Clive Churchill Medal.

Benji Marshall the miracle worker


Australian selectors name St Helens centre Jamie Lyon in their 23-man squad for the Tri-Nations tournament. He becomes only the second player in almost 100 years to be chosen while playing for an overseas club. Seven newcomers are named in the Australian squad, including Melbourne’s Greg Inglis and Cameron Smith, Roosters forward Anthony Tupou, Brisbane’s Sam Thaiday, St George Illawarra utility Ben Hornby and Parramatta winger Jarryd Hayne.


Manly overcome serious off-field distractions to hand the Warriors a 24-10 defeat in the grand final at ANZ Stadium. The decider attracts the ninth highest crowd in premiership history – 81,988. Manly lock Glenn Stewart is named Clive Churchill Medallist while brother Brett hits the headlines after a terse exchange with NRL boss David Gallop on the victory dais.

Former Manly back-rower Glenn Stewart.
Former Manly back-rower Glenn Stewart. ©NRL Photos


The NRL overturn an earlier ruling that would prevent suspended Rabbitohs hooker Issac Luke from joining in celebrations on the field should Souths win the grand final. Officials pointed to rules that banned suspended players from entering the playing arena at any time and joining in post-match presentations. “We have shown leniency and a degree of pragmatism,” said NRL head of football Todd Greenberg.


Cronulla players and supporters celebrate a grand final victory 50 years in the making after the Sharks hold off Melbourne to win the decider 14-12 at ANZ Stadium. Prop Andrew Fifita scores the match-winning try for the Sharks while second-rower Luke Lewis is named Clive Churchill Medal winner.

The Sharks faithful welcome their heroes back to Shark Park after the grand final.
The Sharks faithful welcome their heroes back to Shark Park after the grand final. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos


Hot favourite James Tedesco is named Dally M Player of the Year after holding off a challenge from Melbourne Storm captain Cameron Smith. Brisbane prop Payne Haas carries of rookie of the year and prop of the year, while Melbourne’s Craig Bellamy is named Dally M Coach of the Year for the fifth time.


Penrith open their finals campaign with a dramatic 29-28 defeat of the Sydney Roosters at Panthers Stadium. The Panthers withstand a fierce Roosters fightback after leading 28-12 early in the second half.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners