You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Des Hasler after the grand final win.

On this day, ET and the Raging Bull run riot for the Kangaroos, a joint venture is born and a possum causes chaos for Warriors fans.


Trent Merrin was born in Sydney. A versatile forward he played 13 Origins for NSW and seven Tests for Australia in the 2010s. Starting his club career at St George Illawarra in 2009, he was a member of the grand final-winning team the following year and played 133 games for the club before switching to Penrith for a three-year stint from 2016-18, heading to the Super League with 205 NRL appearances under his belt. In 2020 Merrin returned to the Dragons, playing 12 games that season and another six in 2021 before announcing his retirement.

Retiring class of 2021 honoured at Suncorp Stadium


Andrew Ettingshausen scores three tries as Mal Meninga’s Kangaroos begin their tour in fine style with a 34-4 thumping of St Helens.


ARL chairman Ken Arthurson offers to stand aside if it will bring about peace in the game.


ARL-aligned clubs, with the exception of South Sydney, indicate they are prepared to abandon legal action against the NRL when the 14-team competition is finalised, in return for News Limited’s $5 million share of a funding package.


The NRL gives “unanimous approval” for the payment of $8 million to fund the Manly-Norths joint venture, contingent on the approval of rival clubs and Manly members.

Steve Menzies in action for the Northern Eagles in 2002.
Steve Menzies in action for the Northern Eagles in 2002.


Australia score a record 82-0 victory over Papua New Guinea in an official Test match in Townsville. Winger Mat Rogers contributes 26 points from 13 goals, while second-rower Gorden Tallis crosses for four tries.


Penrith’s Craig Gower damages knee ligaments as Australia run in 10 tries to defeat Papua New Guinea 54-12 in Port Moresby. Nathan Blacklock (2), Jamie Lyon (2) and Mark Gasnier all score tries in their Test debuts.


Churchill Medal winner Craig Fitzgibbon says he was embarrassed to accept the award ahead of his captain Brad Fittler after the Roosters' 30-8 win over the Warriors in the decider.


Australian selectors name six Manly players in the 24-man squad for the World Cup, including newcomers Josh Perry, Anthony Watmough, Glenn Stewart and David Williams. Others selected for Australia for the first time are Terry Campese and Joel Monaghan (Canberra) and Anthony Laffranchi (Gold Coast).


Just five days after steering Manly to their second premiership title in four years, coach Des Hasler informs officials he has signed to coach Canterbury in 2013. Hasler’s decision sparks bitter recriminations between Sea Eagles heavyweights and board members.

Cameron Murray makes his Test debut against Tonga.
Cameron Murray makes his Test debut against Tonga. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos


Australian coach Mal Meninga names six newcomers in a 19-man squad chosen for end-of-season Tests against New Zealand and Tonga. Cameron Murray, Payne Haas, Nick Cotric, Josh Addo-Carr, Jack Wighton and Paul Vaughan earn Kangaroo selection for the first time.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners