You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Johnathan Thurston has always been a fan favourite.

On this day, Johnathan Thurston is awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters, John Quayle switches to the Olympics and Saturday afternoon football is scrapped. 


Steve Anderson was born. A young utility back, he made his first-grade debut for Wests in 1982 and switched to Cronulla the following season, playing 24 games to bring his career tally to 36. Anderson died in a car accident in early 1984. 


Brisbane centre Steve Renouf signs a new contract with the Broncos, tying him to the club until the end of the 1996 season.


Outgoing ARL chief executive John Quayle is appointed to a powerful post on the Sydney Organising Committee for the Olympic Games, in which he will oversee the organisation of venues for the 2000 games.


Gold Coast chief executive Paul Broughton announces his retirement at the club’s annual general meeting. His involvement in the game spanned 45 years.

Paul Broughton at the 2019 Titans awards night.
Paul Broughton at the 2019 Titans awards night. ©NRL Photos


The NRL sticks with the controversial eight-team final series format for 2000, despite the reduction in teams from 17 to 14.


The Melbourne Storm announce they will play their grand final rematch against St George Illawarra at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday, March 3, 2000.


NRL chief executive David Moffett announces a six-year naming rights sponsorship with Telstra, reportedly worth $72 million.


ARL chairman Colin Love announces that an International Sevens tournament featuring the 15 NRL clubs and nine international teams will be staged on February 1-2, 2003.


Halfback of the Century Andrew Johns embarks on a relief mission to tsunami-ravaged Samoa. He is joined by Wendell Sailor, Nigel Vagana, Roy Asotasi and a number of Australian surfers.


Dual-premiership winning centre Paul Whatuira agrees to join Parramatta on a one-year deal.


Ben Hornby and Dean Young, members of St George Illawarra’s 2010 premiership-winning team, are added to the full-time coaching staff of Dragons mentor Paul McGregor.

Manly's Dylan Walker.
Manly's Dylan Walker. ©NRL Photos


Manly announce the signing of South Sydney grand final-winning centre Dylan Walker to a four-year contract.


Wests Tigers name Robbie Farah in a seven-man leadership group for 2016, confirming he will remain at the club after he was initially asked to find a new team. Chief executive Justin Pascoe apologises that the Farah fiasco had been allowed to “play out publicly”.


Cowboys champion Johnathan Thurston receives yet another honour in a year of resounding achievement when he is awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters by James Cook University.

A look back at the 2015 Grand Final


Incoming New South Wales coach Brad Fittler makes key appointments to his staff, including Danny Buderus as assistant coach, along with Blues great Paul Sironen and respected Cowboys football manager Peter Parr.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.     

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners