You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Broncos name star-studded Nines squad

The Broncos will roll out their next generation of speedsters at the NRL Nines in Perth with three of last year’s debutants to launch their quest for spots in the round-one side.

Xavier Coates, Herbie Farnworth and Izaia Perese are in contention for outside back positions in the Telstra Premiership after getting a taste of NRL action in 2019.

That trio will be joined out wide by Jamayne Isaako and Tesi Niu who both shone at the World Cup 9s last year for New Zealand and Tonga respectively.

Coates, 18, has had an outstanding pre-season and is right in the frame to play against the Cowboys in Townsville in round one.

The tournament will also feature new halfback signing Brodie Croft for the first time in Broncos colours.

With plenty of strike power around him the Broncos view the Nines as the perfect environment for the former Storm half to start his career at his new club where he will also line up with his new halves partner Anthony Milford for the first time.

Isaako: Perese is the man to watch

The Broncos have signalled their intent to win the NRL Nines by naming star forwards David Fifita and Payne Haas in the line-up.

Fifita was integral to Australia’s win at Bankwest Stadium last year where his athleticism and power came to the fore.

Haas is relishing the opportunity to continue his partnership with Fifita that the duo first forged at schoolboy level for Keebra Park High.

Of interest will also be the combination between Milford and Fifita, albeit in a modified version of the game. Fifita has been running off Milford at Broncos training and with extra space at the Nines, that partnership will no doubt be fine-tuned.

The Broncos campaign  will also feature the return of club great Corey Parker, three years after retiring from the game.

Parker told he was relishing the impending challenge.

Broncos' Nines squad

1 Jamayne Isaako
2 Tesi Niu
3 Herbie Farnworth
4 Izaia Perese
5 Xavier Coates
6 Anthony Milford
7 Brodie Croft
8 Tom Dearden
9 David Fifita
10 Alex Glenn
11 Payne Haas
12 Ethan Bullemor
13 Jake Turpin
14 Cory Paix
15 Thomas Flegler
16 Jesse Arthars
17 Ilikena Vudogo
18 Corey Parker
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners