You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Eels fullback Clint Gutherson.

With 14 wins from 20 games when the NRL Nines was held in Auckland, the Eels enter this weekend's tournament in Perth as the premier short-form team.

Parramatta always made it past the pool stage between 2014-17, featuring in eight finals games - the most of any side - and winning the 2016 title (though it was later stripped due to salary cap breaches).

The Cowboys (who also made the playoffs every year) and Sharks are the second-most successful Nines sides having won 11 fixtures. North Queensland claimed the inaugural Nines title in 2014.

The Roosters (10 wins), Warriors (10), Rabbitohs (9), Storm (8) and Panthers (8) have shone at different times as well.

Incredibly, the Eels are unbeaten in all 12 games where they've scored first. So too 2017 champions the Roosters who have been in that situation eight times.

The Cowboys (10 wins from 12 games after scoring first) and Cronulla (eight from nine) have also been ruthless following fast starts.

At the other end of the spectrum, the Dragons scored first in eight outings but walked away with the chocolates only three times.

Former Parramatta winger Semi Radradra holds the record for most NRL Nines tries with 15 (two being Bonus Zone tries).

While the Eels no longer have Radradra's services, one suspects another rampaging Fijian flanker, Maiko Sivo, is primed to do similar damage fresh off being the NRL's top try-scorer in 2019.

Having named a strong squad including Clint Gutherson, Mitch Moses and Blake Ferguson, Parramatta are among the fancied chances to continue their dominance and go all the way in Western Australia.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners