You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
February 22: Rabbitohs rule the world; 100 greatest players named

On this day, record-breaking Rabbitohs rule the world, Tallis calls out Wallabies and 100 greatest players unveiled.


The Rothmans company announce a major sponsorship for the game worth $850,000 for three years. The competition becomes known as the Winfield premiership and the premiers are to be handed the Winfield Cup, along with the Giltinan Shield.


Manly coach Graham Lowe resigns due to ill health. National coach Bob Fulton outlines his plans to take over the Manly reins.  


The ARL threatens England centre Garry Connolly with court action if he plays in the World Nines tournament in Fiji. Connolly signed an ARL loyalty agreement in 1995 which prevented him from representing his country.  

Marc Glanville playing in 1997.
Marc Glanville playing in 1997. ©NRL Photos


Newcastle lock Marc Glanville is sent off for a spear tackle on Manly prop Mark Carroll in a fiery trial at Coffs Harbour.


Auckland chief executive Ian Robson succumbs to pressure from the Warriors board by announcing his resignation.


Brisbane winger Wendell Sailor faces six weeks on the sideline after breaking his thumb in a trial match against Adelaide.


Brisbane captain Gorden Tallis calls for a showdown between the Kangaroos and the Wallabies to "stop the cheap shots at league from (John) O'Neill and Co". Tallis says: "I'll play them anywhere, any time and I'll play them for nothing."


Former Kiwi halfback Gary Freeman is appointed coach of the New Zealand national side.


Brisbane are humbled 66-18 by the Bulldogs in a trial in Toowoomba.

Luke Priddis playing for Penrith in 2007.
Luke Priddis playing for Penrith in 2007. ©NRL Photos


Penrith name Craig Gower, Luke Priddis and Tony Puletua as co-captains for 2007.


St George Illawarra appoint Mark Gasnier, Jason Ryles and Ben Hornby as co-captains.


Rugged utility forward Alan Tongue is named captain of the Canberra Raiders for 2007.


The ARL unveil the 100 Greatest Players of All Time at a ceremony at Sydney's Milson's Point. The list, as voted by the ARL's voting "college" of former players, coaches, administrators, journalists and historians contains only one current-day player, Brisbane captain Darren Lockyer.  The 100 players would become the first inductees into the NRL Hall of Fame.


Test coach Ricky Stuart supports the NRL's attempts to introduce a second referee. A dual-refereeing system was revived during the first weekend of official trials.


The ARL Commission makes its first major decision by scrapping the controversial McIntyre top eight system that had been in operation since 1999. The finals series will revert to a system of two pools of four, in which the top four teams are rewarded with a second chance if they are beaten on the first weekend.

Reni Maitua playing for Parramatta in 2013.
Reni Maitua playing for Parramatta in 2013. ©NRL Photos


Parramatta announce Jarryd Hayne and Reni Maitua will take responsibility as co-captains in 2013 while prop Tim Mannah is named club captain and will handle official duties off the field.


Parramatta make the first recruitment move of the 2014 season by signing promising Canberra back-rower Josh Papalii to a three-year contract. The deal immediately sparks controversy as Raiders officials claim Papalii wants to stay with the club.


The Melbourne Storm reclaim the title of world champions after holding out Super League premiers Leeds 18-14 in the World Club Challenge showdown at Headingley.


St George Illawarra suffer a spate of injuries in a 28-10 Charity Shield loss to South Sydney. Hookers Mitch Rein (shoulder) and Cameron King (concussion) and backs Jason Nightingale (sciatica) and Matt Cooper (calf) are all hurt.

Josh Dugan in 2014.
Josh Dugan in 2014. ©NRL Photos


St George Illawarra fullback Josh Dugan falls victim to a knee injury as the Dragons crash to a 38-20 Charity Shield defeat to South Sydney. The injury is expected to sideline Dugan for six weeks.


The Sydney Roosters win the World Club Challenge trophy with a 36-14 defeat of Wigan at Allianz Stadium. The Roosters won the JJ Giltinan Shield as 2013 minor premiers and the Provan-Summons Trophy after taking out the NRL grand final. Roosters hooker Jake Friend is awarded man of the match honours.


South Sydney continue on their winning way after crushing English Super League champions St Helens 39-0 in the World Club Challenge clash at St Helens' Langtree Stadium. Prop George Burgess is named man of the match. The 39-point margin is a WCC record.


Newcastle grant second-rower Joseph Tapine a release from the final year of his contract, allowing him to join Canberra for the 2016 season.

This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.