You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Major state competitions kick off in NSW and Queensland

The third edition of the Holden Women's Premiership may be six months away but Australia's elite players will kick off their campaigns in major state competitions across Queensland and NSW on March 14.

Queensland's newly formed BHP Premiership runs for eight regular rounds before preliminary finals take place, followed by the grand final on May 17 at Langlands Park in Brisbane.

Brothers Ipswich suffered a blow in their pre-season trials with Jillaroos star Ali Brigginshaw ruled out for their campaign after undergoing ankle surgery.  

Burleigh also copped a dent to their chances of improving on their grand final loss last season with Broncos centre Amber Pilley suffering a knee injury in February.

The Bears will welcome back former Jillaroo Karina Brown to the club after a three-year stint at Easts Tigers came to an end. 

Reigning champions West Brisbane Panthers have recruited England international Charlotte Booth for the 2020 season but have lost Amy Turner with the Queensland representative falling pregnant in the off-season.

North Queensland's inaugural team the Gold Stars will take on Brothers in round one with Maroons playmaker Jenni-Sue Hoepper to captain the side.

Karina Brown.
Karina Brown. ©Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos

For the NSWRL competition, 11 teams are locked in for the 2020 season with 16 regular rounds confirmed before a finals series in July. 

Reigning champions CRL Newcastle won't field a team in 2020 with most of their players shifting to newly formed club Central Coast Roosters.

Isabelle Kelly will captain the Roosters' feeder club despite her own future with the NRLW team up in the air after shifting to the Dragons for the Nines tournament in February.

Mounties, 2019 runners-up, have added Australian gun Keeley Davis and former Jillaroo Vanessa Foliaki to their squad.

Roosters forward Vanessa Foliaki.
Roosters forward Vanessa Foliaki. ©Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos

Semi-finalists Wests Tigers have also added to their stocks by signing Kiwi Ferns playmaker Raecene McGregor from Cabramatta. 

All players from both states will move to their NRLW clubs at the completion of their state competitions in July.

NSWRL has announced a City v Country fixture will take place as a State of Origin selection game in May. 

It's understood the Queensland Maroons side will be picked based off performances in the BHP Premiership.  

The Harvey Norman National Championships are expected to commence in late May but understands NRLW players will not be eligible to compete after concerns over their workloads and injuries suffered in previous years. 

Australian-based NRLW players' club sides in 2020

NSW Harvey Norman Women's Premiership

Central Coast Roosters: Jayme Fressard, Mel Howard, Caitlan Johnston, Isabelle Kelly, Bobbi Law, Hannah Southwell.

North Sydney: Kirra Dibb, Nita Maynard, Teuila Fotu-Moala, Aliti Namoce, Shanice Parker, Shontelle Stowers, Holli Wheeler*.

Mounties: Shaylee Bent, Keeley Davis, Vanessa Foliaki, Brydie Parker, Simaima Taufa.

Bulldogs: Maddison Weatherall, Quincy Dodd.

Sharks: Corban McGregor, Tiana Penitani, Maddie Studdon, Kiana Takairangi.

Rabbitohs: Jasmin Allende, Nakia Davis-Welsh.

Wests Tigers: Botille Vette-Welsh, Raecene McGregor.

Penrith Brothers: Nil.

St Mary's Saints: Maitua Feterika, Rikeya Horne, Sarah Togatuki.

Wentworthville Magpies: Nil.

BHP Premiership

Gold Stars: Jenni-Sue Hoepper, Stephanie Mooka.

Burleigh: Millie Boyle, Karina Brown, Tazmin Gray, Tallisha Harden, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Amber Pilley*, Zahara Temara.

Ipswich: Ali Brigginshaw*, Brittany Breayley, Tanika Marshall.

Tweed: Jessika Elliston, Tarryn Aiken*.

West Panthers: Lavinia Gould, Julia Robinson, Amy Turner*.

Souths Logan: Annette Brander, Stephanie Hancock, Rona Peters, Meg Ward.

Central Queensland: Chelsea Baker, Mariah Storch, Tamika Upton.

Easts Tigers: Rosemary Vaimili Toalepai.

* denotes injured or unavailable

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners