You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jess Sergis and James Tedesco with their Players' Champion awards in 2019.

The Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) will crown their 2020 Players’ Champion on the biggest day of the season by partnering with Channel Nine to deliver the announcement live on grand final day.

The peer-nominated honour will once again recognise the best players from both the NRL and NRLW seasons – as voted by those who take the field each week.

Roosters superstar James Tedesco will be looking to collect the prestigious award for the third time in four years while Jessica Sergis will be chasing back-to-back Players' Champion awards after collecting the inaugural women's award in 2019.

Four-time Players’ Champion Johnathan Thurston said he was pleased the award will receive increased exposure on Nine's coverage of league's biggest day.

“The Players' Champion Award is one of the highest honours that a player in the NRL and NRLW can earn, it means a tremendous amount to be held in high regard by those you play alongside,” Thurston said.

“Receiving the award was one of the proudest accomplishments of my career, and I’m thankful that Nine will be able to give more exposure to this great initiative in the weeks to come.”

The four nominated players from each NRL club eligible for this year’s award makes up the List of Contenders, which will be rolled out from next week. 

The Honour Roll


  • 2019 James Tedesco
  • 2018 Kalyn Ponga
  • 2017 James Tedesco
  • 2016 Jason Taumalolo
  • 2015 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2014 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2013 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2012 Ben Barba
  • 2011 Akuila Uate
  • 2010 Darius Boyd
  • 2009 Jarryd Hayne
  • 2008 Braith Anasta & Petero Civoniceva
  • 2007 Matt Bowen
  •  2006 Ben Kennedy
  • 2005 Johnathan Thurston
  • 2004 Danny Buderus


  • 2019 Jessica Sergis
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners