You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Pelite, Brigginshaw among five shortlisted for RLPA Players' Champion

Warriors star Evania Pelite and four players who will take the field in Sunday's NRL Telstra Women's Premiership grand final have been shortlisted for the 2020 RLPA Players' Champion award.

Broncos captain Ali Brigginshaw, fresh off winning the Dally M medal for best female player in the game, joins teammate Tamika Upton and Roosters pair Hannah Southwell and Zahara Temara as the five finalists.

The winner of the prestigious award, voted upon by their peers, will be announced during Channel Nine's broadcast following the Roosters and Broncos NRLW grand final on Sunday.

Under the rules, NRLW players were given a window to vote for opposition players on a 3-2-1 basis following the completion of round three on October 17.

Every NRLW player was eligible to vote and be nominated for if they feature in at least one match for their club, while a player couldn't vote for another player at the same club.

Broncos v Roosters - Grand final

Dragons centre Jessica Sergis was awarded last year's inaugural NRLW award with the likes of Simaima Taufa, Sam Bremner, Sarina Fiso and George Hale acknowledged for their international achievements previously.

"The NRLW continues to go from strength to strength and this season has been nothing short of outstanding," RLPA chief executive Clint Newton said.

"Recognising and celebrating the performances of our members each season is fundamental, and The Players' Champion is a unique honour which is always closely contested.

NRLW grand final media conference

"I'd like to congratulate Ali, Tamika, Evania, Hannah and Zahara on being voted among the best players by their peers this season – there is no greater honour.

"It's an enormous achievement, and we look forward the announcement of the winner following what is sure to be a quality grand final between the Roosters and Broncos on Sunday."

The five finalists for the NRL award include Panthers halfback Nathan Cleary, Luke Keary, Josh Papalii, James Tedesco and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Hersday - grand final edition

NRLW Players' Champion finalists 2020

  • Ali Brigginshaw (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Tamika Upton (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Evania Pelite (Warriors)
  • Hannah Southwell (Sydney Roosters)
  • Zahara Temara (Sydney Roosters)
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners