You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

New Blues captain James Tedesco has been crowned NSW's greatest-ever State of Origin fullback in an all-time team chosen by an array of retired legends.

To celebrate 40 years of Origin, - in conjunction with The Sydney Morning Herald and Channel Nine, have assembled an all-star panel to choose the best of the best squads for each state.

Wide World of Sports experts Peter Sterling, Billy Slater, Paul Vautin, Andrew Johns, Johnathan Thurston, Wally Lewis, Darren Lockyer, Paul Gallen and Blues coach Brad Fittler each selected their ultimate NSW and Queensland teams.

The players who received the most votes in each position made the final 17-man teams. The Maroons line-up will be announced next Wednesday. 

Tedesco, leading the Blues for the first time in his 11th Origin match on Wednesday night, has been central to the state's success for the past two years and was picked ahead of Anthony Minichiello and Garry Jack.

The NSW side had some notable omissions, with warhorse 2014 series-winning captain Gallen unable to land a spot. Nor was there room for great back-rower Wayne Pearce, who missed out on the bench to Michael O'Connor in a countback.

Some of the game's most famous names like Johns (halfback), Fittler (five-eighth), Laurie Daley (centre), Danny Buderus (hooker), Bradley Clyde (lock), Glenn Lazarus (prop) and Paul Harragon (prop) were all unanimous selections or very close to it.

Former Eels star Jarryd Hayne was a popular pick on one wing, with Eric Grothe snr beating Brett Morris on the other flank.

Greatest Blues team of Origin era revealed on Channel 9

Andrew Ettingshausen only played eight of his 27 official Origins in the centres – he also lined up at wing, fullback and on the bench – but he polled three votes in that position as well as three as a winger.

Paul Sironen and Ben Kennedy were the second-rowers, edging out current giant Boyd Cordner – who left camp after Origin I due to his latest head knock. Cordner still earned a place on the interchange.

Champion front-rower Steve Roach and the versatile Brett Kenny joined Cordner and O'Connor as reserves.

Phil Gould, NSW's most successful coach with six series victories and a win rate of 58.3 percent from 24 games, was the overwhelming pick to hold the clipboard. Gallen opted for 2005-winning coach Ricky Stuart.

Here's who each legend selected in their NSW teams.

Brad Fittler

The Blues coach picked Brett Kenny ahead of himself at five-eighth. He selected Boyd Cordner to start in the second row and found room for Tom Trbojevic on the bench despite the currently injured 24-year-old having only played five Origins.

Peter Sterling

The champion halfback was the only man to opt for Garry Jack at fullback. Sterling selected Michael O'Connor to start at centre and chose Ian Roberts on the interchange.

Billy Slater

He tormented him for many a series, but great Queenslander Billy Slater couldn't leave Paul Gallen out of his 17. Slater was in the minority who selected fearsome front-rower Willie Mason, adding him on the bench.

Paul Gallen

The long-time Blues skipper agreed with the majority of the panel that Bradley Clyde deserved the No.13 jersey which Gallen himself wore with distinction. Gallen opted for Anthony Minichiello at fullback and advocated for Brett Morris on the wing.

Paul Vautin

Maroons champion Vautin believes Ray Price is NSW's best Origin lock of all-time and was the only expert to choose Mr Perpetual Motion. He also picked Brad Fittler at centre, preferring Laurie Daley at five-eighth.

Andrew Johns

Joey was selected at halfback by everyone except himself. Instead, he went for Ricky Stuart in the No.7 jersey. Like Vautin, Johns picked Fittler at centre and Daley at five-eighth.

Johnathan Thurston

JT was the lone legend to put Mark Carroll in his starting front row alongside Glenn Lazarus, with the others all picking Paul Harragon as their second bookend. Thurston couldn't find room for the Chief on the bench, either, with Willie Mason and Steve Roach getting the nod ahead of him.

Wally Lewis

Lewis handed the No.6 to Brett Kenny at the expense of Brad Fittler, who he included on the interchange. The King had Michael O'Connor as one of his starting centres and chose Wayne Pearce on the bench.

Darren Lockyer

Lockyer is also a member of the Anthony Minichiello fan club. He pushed Andrew Ettingshausen to the wing and went for both Laurie Daley and Brad Fittler in the centres with Brett Kenny the pivot. Ricky Stuart and Peter Sterling nabbed bench spots in his playmaker-rich side.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners