You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

All the news and award winners as it happens from the Dally M Awards in Brisbane.

Please keep refreshing this page for the latest updates

Sea Eagles fullback Tom Trbojevic has capped a stunning individual season to be officially crowned 2021 Dally M medal winner at Monday's awards night in Brisbane.

Trbojevic became the third player in Manly history behind Cliff Lyons (1990 and 1994) and Matt Orford (2008) to win the award in a record-breaking year.

The Dally M Team of the Year is Tom Trbojevic, Reuben Garrick, Justin Olam, Matt Burton, Brian To'o, Cody Walker, Nathan Cleary, Isaah Yeo, Viliame Kikau, Isaiah Papali'i, James Fisher-Harris, Brandon Smith and Payne Haas.

The team features six Panthers who will take part in Sunday's grand final.

Melbourne Storm mentor Craig Bellamy has been named the Dally M Coach of the Year after leading his team to 19 wins in a row and the minor premiership.

"I know all our members in Melbourne have had it pretty tough not being able to watch live but they would've been glued to the television," Bellamy said.

"I know it was a disappointing finish but what the boys did this year was quite incredible. The players did a great job being away for two years, sometimes we had our families with us and sometimes we didn't. I've enjoyed what the players have provided for us."

The Dally M Captain of the Year is James Tedesco from the Sydney Roosters.

"It was a crazy year for us with a lot of setbacks and disappointments but I couldn't be prouder to lead the club," Tedesco said.

Tedesco named Dally M Captain of the Year

"It was a difficult year for us and I know it ended it a disappointing way but the fight we showed week-in-week-out with so many young guys like Sammy Walker, who was rookie of the year, I was proud to lead the club.

"I want to thank Robbo for true leadership, he guided us through it all. To Boyd Cordner, I leaned on him in important times. His presence was awesome all year for us."

Dally M Captain of the Year James Tedesco.
Dally M Captain of the Year James Tedesco. ©Scott Davis/NRL Photos

The 2021 Rookie of the Year has been won by Roosters teenager Sam Walker.

Walker had eight tries and 19 try assists in a stellar debut season which began in round four against the Warriors.

"The belief that was instilled in me through the club, Robbo and players this year was brilliant," Walker said,

"They allowed me to go out there and play my game. I would not be here without the club and what they've done for me the last two years."

Sam Walker claims Rookie of the Year award

The Peter Frilingos Headline Moment for 2021 has gone to the Melbourne Storm for their 19-game winning streak which equalled the record set by the 1975 Roosters side.

"To win 19 straight in this era is unbelievable, I'm really proud of them. It's been a long year again but they performed so well," said Storm coach Craig Bellamy.

"We didn't make a big thing of it but it's obviously a wonderful performance by our players."

The Provan-Summons Medal has been won by Josh Morris, who was captured in the Roosters dressing room in Newcastle consoling brother Brett after he had suffered a career-ending knee injury.

The emotional moment was captured by the Fox Sports cameras and highligted the brothers' love and respect for one another and the tight bond Roosters coach Trent Robinson has created in his squad.

Manly superstar Tom Trbojevic arrives at the Dally M awards ceremony in Brisbane.
Manly superstar Tom Trbojevic arrives at the Dally M awards ceremony in Brisbane. ©Grant Trouville/NRL Photos

Five contenders were announced last week for the Dally M Medal player of the year - Nathan Cleary, Tom Trbojevic, Daly Cherry-Evans, Cody Walker and James Tedesco.

Among the other awards to be announced tonight will be for the best rookie, captain and coach, the headline moment of the year and the Provan-Summons Medal, while the four nominees will be named for the Ken Stephen Medal recognising work in the community.

Grand final rivals Wayne Bennett and Ivan Cleary, along with Des Hasler, Trent Robinson and Craig Bellamy are on the shortlist for coach of the year.

The contenders for the positional awards were announced earlier on Monday with grand final combatants Penrith and South Sydney dominating the list.

Part one of the award's ceremony on Fox League was held last Monday with the try of the year, tackle of the year and VB Hard-Earned player of the year awarded while the top try scorer and points scorer for 2021 were also acknowledged.

2021 Try of the Year: Tom Trbojevic

Sea Eagles winger Reuben Garrick claimed the top points scorer gong with a record-breaking 304 points through 21 tries and 110 goals in 24 matches.

Garrick broke former Bulldog Hazem El Masri's record of 288 in 2004 with an 18-point haul in the final round against the Cowboys.

Rabbitohs winger Alex Johnston took out the Ken Irvine Medal as top try scorer for the second consecutive year with 27 tries in 19 regular-season games.

2021 Hard Earned Highlights - Round 25

Parramatta's Isaiah Papali'i, arguably one of the buys of the year, finished the season as VB's hardest working player. 

After being released from the Warriors last year, Papali'i finished his season in blue and gold with seven tries, 109 tackle breaks, 809 tackles, 30 offloads and 1500 post-contact metres.

2021 Tackle of the Year: Xavier Coates

In the try of the year award, the Sea Eagles claimed the gong with their 110-metre team effort that ended with Trbojevic collecting a Cherry-Evans kick against the Cowboys in round 25.

For the tackle of the year, departing Broncos winger Xavier Coates claimed the honours for his 90-metre effort to run down Rabbitohs centre Dane Gagai and deny a try in round 13.

MJ Bale is a proud supporter of this year's Dally M Awards, outfitting some of this year’s players. Explore M.J. Bale's range of supremely tailored men's suits, tuxedos, jackets, shirts, and more online or in-store today at

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners