You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Manly's Tom Trbojevic has picked up the RLPA Players' Champion award to sit proudly alongside his Dally M Player of the Year honour a week earlier to underline the fullback's magnificent season.

The prestigious double was last completed by another fullback - Roosters James Tedesco in 2019.

But Trbojevic has set himself apart by becoming the first Manly player to win the RLPA Players’ Champion.

For Trbojevic it caps off a 2021 season that will be written and spoken about for the rest of the Mona Vale Raiders junior's career.

He scored 28 tries in 18 games for Manly this year, including four hat-tricks and three doubles.

It also comes as an additional birthday present since Trbojevic celebrated turning 25 on the eve of the grand final.

Trbojevic's Sea Eagles were knocked out by South Sydney in the preliminary final but he was at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday night to received the RLPA's top award in front of 39,000 grand final fans.

2021 Try of the Year: Tom Trbojevic

RLPA chief executive Clint Newton congratulated all the players who won awards in 2021 for excelling in the unpredictable conditions the season presented.

"I would like to congratulate Tom on being voted by his peers as the game’s best for 2021," Newton said.

"Despite the challenges of 2021, this year’s finalists all had amazing seasons, but Tom’s season reached new and extraordinary heights and will definitely go down as one of the most brilliant individual performances in rugby league history."

The Players’ Champion NRL: Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Rookie of the Year: Reece Walsh (Warriors)

The Players’ 13 Dream Team:
1. Tom Trbojevic
2. Brian To’o
3. Justin Olam
4. Joseph Manu
5. Reuben Garrick
6. Cody Walker
7. Nathan Cleary
8. Payne Haas
9. Brandon Smith
10. James Fisher-Harris
11. Isaiah Papali’i
12. Angus Crichton
13. Isaah Yeo

Dennis Tutty Award: Christian Welch

The Players’ Champion Honour Roll:
2021 Tom Trbojevic
2020 Nathan Cleary
2019 James Tedesco
2018 Kalyn Ponga
2017 James Tedesco
2016 Jason Taumalolo
2015 Johnathan Thurston
2014 Johnathan Thurston
2013 Johnathan Thurston
2012 Ben Barba
2011 Akuila Uate
2010 Darius Boyd
2009 Jarryd Hayne
2008 Braith Anasta & Petero Civoniceva
2007 Matt Bowen
2006 Ben Kennedy
2005 Johnathan Thurston
2004 Danny Buderus

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners