You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Kangaroos Form Team of the Month: May

With the Kangaroos heading to England in October to try and defend their World Cup crown, players across the NRL will be out to stake their claims for a berth in Mal Meninga's Kangaroos squad.

Form at NRL level will determine who makes the Origin sides mid-season and those NSW and Queensland players will have the inside running for a green and gold jersey.

Every month this season, for a series presented by Gallagher, retired greats Steve Renouf, Josh Morris and Michael Morgan will select a 17-man Australian squad with a composite team then assembled based on their most popular picks.

Renouf played 11 Tests for his country and scored Australia's only try in the 1992 World Cup final triumph over England at Wembley while Morgan was part of the Kangaroos side that beat England 6-0 in Brisbane in the 2017 World Cup final.

Morris played six Tests for Australia and was part of Australia's successful 2013 World Cup campaign.

There will be a final team announced at the end of the season.

Incumbency and career achievements won't be part of the selection criteria, it's all about form, so the trio's teams aren't necessarily a reflection of who they believe should make Australia's next official side.

Kangaroos Form Team of the Month: May

Several undisputed selections from our experts this month with the form of several key players ensuring their somewhat automatic selection in the side.

James Tedesco, Selwyn Cobbo, Stephen Crichton and Cameron Munster were all picked across the board for spots in the backline, while Payne Haas, Reuben Cotter, Jeremiah Nanai and Patrick Carrigan were all selected in the forwards.

Nanai is a try scoring machine

Kotoni Staggs joins Crichton in the centres while Cowboys flyer Murray Taulagi sees his recent form take out the other wing spot, with four tries, two try assists and 18 tackle breaks during the month of May. 

Nathan Cleary edges out Nicho Hynes to claim the halfback spot as he enters the Origin arena for New South Wales, while Damien Cook gets the nod at hooker ahead of Cowboys rake Reece Robson, who has himself been in fine form.

Felise Kaufusi locks down one edge alongside Nanai while Isaah Yeo's continual form sees him take the lock role.

Inspirational Titans skipper Tino Fa'asuamaleaui finds his way on to the bench alongside Queensland Origin teammates in Carrigan and Ben Hunt while Eels forward Ryan Matterson's run of form sees him clinch the final jersey in the side.

Matterson dances his way through the middle

Josh Morris' Kangaroos Form Team

1. James Tedesco 2. Selwyn Cobbo 3. Izack Tago 4. Stephen Crichton 5. Corey Oates 6. Cameron Munster 7. Nicho Hynes 8. Payne Haas 9. Damien Cook 10. Junior Paulo 11. Ryan Matterson 12. Jeremiah Nanai 13. Isaah Yeo (14. Reuben Cotter 15. Patrick Carrigan 16. Tino Fa'asuamaleaui 17. David Klemmer)

Morris has opted for Izack Tago in the centres to partner his Panthers teammate in Crichton, while it's an all Brisbane affair on the wing as Oates joins Cobbo in his team from May. Hynes gets the nod ahead of Cleary, while in-form Eels forward Junior Paulo joins Matterson in earning a start in Morris' forward pack.

Cobbo's Magic Round hat-trick

Origin representatives Nanai, Yeo, Cotter, Carrigan and Fa'asuamaleaui fill out the rest of the pack while there's also a nod to David Klemmer, who claims jersey 17 in Morris' squad after averaging close to 150 metres and 32 tackles per game.

Michael Morgan's Kangaroos Form Team

1. James Tedesco 2. Selwyn Cobbo 3. Valentine Holmes 4. Stephen Crichton 5. Murray Taulagi 6. Cameron Munster 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Payne Haas 9. Reece Robson 10. Reuben Cotter 11. Felise Kaufusi 12. Jeremiah Nanai 13. Isaah Yeo (14. Ben Hunt 15. Patrick Carrigan 16. Josh Papalii 17. Ryan Matterson)

North Queensland's run of form has seen several players selected in Morgan's side with Valentine Holmes, Murray Taulagi and Reece Robson joining Cotter and Nanai in the squad. Ben Hunt is the utility on the bench after his recent form also took him top of the Dally M Leaderboard during the month of May, while Josh Papalii's recent efforts for Canberra see him join the bench alongside Carrigan and Matterson.

Hunt shows his class

Steve Renouf's Kangaroos Form Team

1. James Tedesco 2. Selwyn Cobbo 3. Kotoni Staggs 4. Stephen Crichton 5. Xavier Coates 6. Cameron Munster 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Payne Haas 9. Damien Cook 10. Reuben Cotter 11. Felise Kaufusi 12. Cameron Murray 13. Patrick Carrigan (14. Ben Hunt 15. Jeremiah Nanai 16. Tino Fa'asuamaleaui 17. Liam Martin)

It's a full 17 of Origin representatives for Steve Renouf's side, which sees Kotoni Staggs join Broncos teammate Selwyn Cobbo and Blues teammate Stephen Crichton in the outside backs along with Storm winger Xavier Coates. 

Despite missing time with a shoulder injury, Cameron Murray showed his importance to the Rabbitohs and starts on an edge to accomodate for Patrick Carrigan in the middle, while Panthers edge Liam Martin finds his way on to the bench.

Carrigan: 'It's obviously something you dream of as a kid'

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners