You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Women's Ampol State of Origin heads to Canberra's GIO Stadium on Friday night with New South Wales hoping a change of venue can bring a change of luck as Queensland look for three straight wins.

The Maroons stole an 8-6 victory in the corresponding clash last year on the Sunshine Coast when prop Chelsea Lenarduzzi was awarded a penalty with two minutes to go for ruck interference from NSW prop Filomina Hanisi.

The ending to the match is sure to have lit the fuse in several of the players from NSW ahead of the interstate rivalry resuming in the nation's capital.

Respective coaches Kylie Hilder and Tahnee Norris go head-to-head for the second time in Origin history while nine players overall have featured in every match since 2018. 

Queensland come into the match slightly more experienced with 43 games to NSW's 41 while their average age of 25.5 is a year older than the Sky Blues overall. 

Sportsbet Betting preview: Sky Blues v QLD

The individual match-up storylines are endless with the recent 2021 NRLW season ensuring players are well-equipped to go to another level in the game.

Adding to what is sure to be a drama-filled night, the additions of former rugby sevens stars Emma Tonegato and Evania Pelite, who will represent their states for the first time in the Origin arena, is sure one not to be missed.

The rundown

Team news


Dally M Medal winner Emma Tonegato will make her Origin debut, although the Dragons fullback represented NSW in the interstate challenge in 2012 and 2013 so has experience at this level.

Olivia Kernick and Caitlan Johnston will make their NSW debut off the bench. 

No changes to the final team with the Sky-Blues to run out as per program.


Evania Pelite and Emily Bass are set to represent Queensland for the first time. The former rugby sevens players have relished their switch to rugby league in the past two years with Pelite in particular a key for the Maroons on Friday night.

Other changes from last year's squad include the return of 40-year-old Steph Hancock on the bench, Brittany Breayley-Nati at hooker and Jessika Elliston to the bench. Titans-bound playmaker Lauren Brown will provide utility value from the interchange while there was no room for Roosters playmaker Zahara Temara and veteran winger Karina Brown, who missed Origin selection for the first time since 2015.

There were no late changes to the 17 with Queensland to run out as named.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Sky Blues is number 1 Emma Tonegato
    Fullback for Maroons is number 1 Tamika Upton
  • Winger for Sky Blues is number 2 Yasmin Clydsdale
    Winger for Maroons is number 2 Emily Bass
  • Centre for Sky Blues is number 3 Jessica Sergis
    Centre for Maroons is number 3 Evania Pelite
  • Centre for Sky Blues is number 4 Isabelle Kelly
    Centre for Maroons is number 4 Shenae Ciesiolka
  • Winger for Sky Blues is number 5 Tiana Penitani
    Winger for Maroons is number 5 Julia Robinson
  • Five-Eighth for Sky Blues is number 6 Kirra Dibb
    Five-Eighth for Maroons is number 6 Tarryn Aiken
  • Halfback for Sky Blues is number 7 Rachael Pearson
    Halfback for Maroons is number 7 Ali Brigginshaw


  • Prop for Sky Blues is number 8 Simaima Taufa
    Prop for Maroons is number 8 Chelsea Lenarduzzi
  • Hooker for Sky Blues is number 9 Keeley Davis
    Hooker for Maroons is number 9 Brittany Breayley-Nati
  • Prop for Sky Blues is number 10 Millie Elliot
    Prop for Maroons is number 10 Shannon Mato
  • 2nd Row for Sky Blues is number 11 Kezie Apps
    2nd Row for Maroons is number 11 Tallisha Harden
  • 2nd Row for Sky Blues is number 12 Shaylee Bent
    2nd Row for Maroons is number 12 Tazmin Rapana
  • Lock for Sky Blues is number 13 Hannah Southwell
    Lock for Maroons is number 13 Destiny Brill


  • Interchange for Sky Blues is number 14 Quincy Dodd
    Interchange for Maroons is number 14 Lauren Brown
  • Interchange for Sky Blues is number 15 Sarah Togatuki
    Interchange for Maroons is number 15 Jessika Elliston
  • Interchange for Sky Blues is number 16 Caitlan Johnston
    Interchange for Maroons is number 16 Steph Hancock
  • Interchange for Sky Blues is number 17 Olivia Kernick
    Interchange for Maroons is number 17 Tiana Raftstrand-Smith


  • Replacement for Sky Blues is number 18 Samantha Bremner
    Replacement for Maroons is number 18 Zahara Temara

Match Officials

  • Referee: Belinda Sharpe
  • Senior Review Official: Chris Butler

Last updated:

Key match-up

Rachael Pearson v Ali Brigginshaw: The battle of the outside backs and contest in the middle with the forward packs will be mouth-watering but the class of both halfbacks in the end could prove the difference. Pearson finally gets her chance at the Origin level after missing selection last year and is up against one of the best players in the modern era. The 28-year-old's kicking game for the Dragons in the NRLW is set to be crucial for the Sky Blues, who struggled in that area last year.

Brigginshaw is coming off a quiet NRLW campaign by her usual standards but is still a leap above the general playmakers in the game with her smarts, particularly when a contest is on the line. After playing in the lock role in recent years, the 32-year-old is back in the No.7 jersey and with a Jillaroos spot up for grabs later in the year she'll be looking to make a statement in the representative fixture. 

Stat Attack

NSW were their own worst enemy in the 2021 contest with 15 errors compared to Queensland's nine. They had just 43% of the ball overall but still managed to out-run the Maroons with 1306 run metres. Queensland dominated with kick yardage, however, with 479 metres off the boot compared to NSW's 233 metres. The addition of Pearson should help that stat for the Sky Blues while Queensland should also lift with yardage with the likes of Steph Hancock returning and Evania Pelite on board.

And another thing...

Extra time will apply if the game is tied after 70 minutes before golden point will come into play after 10 minutes.

The 40/30 kick will remain an option for kickers while the six-again rule played in the NRL won't apply with penalties awarded instead for ruck infringements and foul play. 


Win the ultimate Women’s State of Origin experience with your favourite team, thanks to Harvey Norman! Enter online or in-store today!

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners