History Of Rugby League Administration

1907 - Formation of the New South Wales Rugby League.

1908 - Formation of the Queensland Rugby Association (later Queensland Rugby League).

1924 - Formation of the Australian Board of Control (forerunner to the Australian Rugby League) in Sydney, which is charged with fostering the game on an international level.

1934 - Formation of the Country Rugby League of NSW.

1967 - Australian Board of Control becomes the Australian Rugby League.

1983 - Formation of a full-time Australian Rugby League secretariat in Sydney, with Ken Arthurson as Chairman and Bob Abbott as General Manager.

1984 - First meeting of the newly incorporated NSWRL nine-man Board of Directors.

1995 - For the first time, the ARL takes over the running of the new 20-team competition from the NSWRL.

1997 - The ARL and News Limited's Super League run separate competitions.

1997 - Historic series of meetings at Sydney Football Stadium in December brings about a peace deal between ARL and Super League.

1998 - Formation of the NRL Partnership between News Limited and the ARL to run the NRL competition and the game's key revenue rights.

2012 - Formation of the ARL Commission.