You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Tony Archer and Shayne Hayne have been appointed to referee the 2009 Telstra Premiership Grand Final – the first Grand Final to feature two referees.

NRL Referees Coach Robert Finch today handed Hayne his first Grand Final appointment and Archer his third after an intensive de-brief of both Preliminary Finals performances.

The Grand Final will be Hayne’s 200th Premiership match.

“It is always a special occasion to be appointed to your first Grand Final and Shayne has certainly earned that honour, not just with his performances this season but over the past few seasons,” Finch said today.

“Tony has been the leading referee in the game for the past two years and has again demonstrated his leadership and ability throughout the season and together Tony and Shayne represent the best combination for the biggest match of the year.

“It’s been a significant year for match officials with the introduction of the two-referee system and I think everyone has been impressed with the impact it has had on the ruck and the speed of the game.

“It has allowed us to fast-track a number of referees and we have had a number of young referees establish themselves as senior officials this season, such as Ben Cummins and Jared Maxwell, and I would like to congratulate Gavin Reynolds on his appointment to the Toyota Cup Grand Final.”

NRL Chief Executive, Mr David Gallop, today congratulated all referees on their efforts throughout the season:

“Our refereeing program is among the most professional in world sport and it is a credit to both Tony and Shayne that they have earned the honour of representing all officials in the biggest game of the year.

“Just like the players, referees also aspire to be in the Grand Final and I congratulate Tony and Shayne on their appointments.

“Thank you to all our match officials for your efforts in what has been a historic season with the introduction of the two-referee system.”

Telstra Premiership Grand Final
Referees: Tony Archer and Shayne Hayne
Sideline officials: Paul Holland and David Abood
Video Referee: Bill Harrigan
Standby Referee: Ben Cummins

Toyota Cup Grand Final:
Referee: Gavin Reynolds

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners