You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Members of the VB Australian Kangaroos today joined NRL Chief Executive, Mr David Gallop and ARL Indigenous Council Chairman, Mr William ‘Smiley’ Johnstone, to announce players who are eligible for inclusion in the inaugural Indigenous All Stars team. Today was also the official unveiling of the team logo and jersey artwork for the Indigenous All Stars.

The Indigenous All Stars side will come together against an opposing NRL All Stars team at the first game of its kind taking place at Skilled Park on February 13, 2010 – this date also marks the second anniversary of Australia’s apology to the Stolen Generation.

Kangaroo captain Darren Lockyer, his deputy Cameron Smith, as well as Australian Indigenous players Jonathan Thurston, Greg Inglis, Sam Thaiday and Justin Hodges, were present as the nominated players were announced.

The ARL Indigenous Council in cooperation with the 16 NRL Clubs has determined a list of all players who are eligible for consideration in the team. It is now up to the official selectors of the game - the fans, to choose the side who will take the field in February next year.

Nominated players eligible for the Indigenous All Stars can be viewed here

Public voting for the Indigenous All Stars opens during the Four Nations tournament through The fans are being asked to select 16 Indigenous players.

They will be under the leadership of Ken Stephen Award winner Preston Campbell and will be joined by an additional three players who will be chosen by the ARL Indigenous Council selectors and Indigenous All Stars coach Neil Henry to form the 20-man squad.

Fans have less than a month to cast their vote for the Indigenous All Stars with voting officially closing on Sunday, November 15, 2009.

ARL Indigenous Council Chairman, Smiley Johnstone said, “The players nominated today represent some of the best athletes in the game.

“The talent on the field on February 13, 2010 will be something that has never been seen before in a single game of Rugby League. The significance of this game extends beyond the physical contest, it is an acknowledgement to the phenomenal contribution the Indigenous community has made to the game.

“We are all eagerly anticipating just who the fans will choose to be a part of this inaugural side.

A week of community activity in the lead up to the game will demonstrate Rugby League’s reach into the grassroots community – particularly into regional and remote Australia.”

The official logo design and jersey artwork for the Indigenous All Stars team were also revealed today. The ARL Indigenous Council and the Diversity Council Australia commissioned six artists for tender and received submissions of the highest standard.

From these submissions former Rugby League star Sid Domic has been chosen as the successful artist. Domic played the game for more than a decade representing the Brisbane Broncos and Penrith Panthers in Australia and in the played in the English Super League with the Warrington Wolves, Wakefield Trinity Wildcats and Hull FC.

Domic was first taught how to paint by his grandmother and since retiring from the game has established himself as a talented Indigenous artist, exhibiting his work internationally.

Domic’s designs have drawn inspiration from colours that represent the earth, sun and water. The logo and jersey artwork incorporates boomerangs, the Southern Cross and symbolic elements representing the coming together of cultures and communities.

“It is a great honour to have my designs worn on the field by a team that is representing my people,” said Sid Domic.

“Seeing Preston lead a group of the game’s best players in my designs will be one of the highlights of my artistic career. I am so proud of my Indigenous heritage and this game is destined to become a highlight on the annual Rugby League calendar.”

Voting for the NRL All Stars side will take place throughout January 2010. The NRL All Stars team will include the Kangaroos Captain Darren Lockyer and Vice-Captain Cameron Smith and the New Zealand Captain Benji Marshall and Vice-Captain Adam Blair, with the remaining 16 positions determined by the public vote. The prerequisite for the NRL All Stars is that one player from each NRL team must feature in the 16 voted by the public.

NRL All Stars v Indigenous All Stars Ticket Information
General public tickets for the game go on sale at 9am Monday, October 26, 2009.

NRL Club members are entitled to an exclusive pre-purchase ticket offer from 9am Wednesday, October 21, 2009. MyNRL members are can pre-purchase tickets from 9am Thursday, October 22, 2009. Anyone can become a MyNRL member for free by registering at

All Stars Ticket Categories and Prices

Price Category




















Tickets are available through Ticketek on 132 849, at Ticketek outlets or online at New Zealand customers can call 0800 842 538 or +61 132 849.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners