You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
In a stunning reflection of the strength and excitement of the 2010 Telstra Premiership, players from nine different clubs have tonight shared positional awards at the Dally M Medal. <br><br> Presented in front of more than 420 of Rugby League’s biggest names at Sydney’s State Theatre, it is only the second time in the 30-year history of the Dally Ms and the first time since 1999 that the nine positional awards have been evenly shared – with eight members of the 2010 Dally M Team of the Year first-time positional winners. <br><br> While the positional awards were shared, it is the Sydney Roosters who have been the big winners tonight. <br><br> As well as contributing the Five-Eighth of the Year in Todd Carney, the Roosters went on to claim another three individual awards, with Brian Smith named Coach of the Year and Braith Anasta Captain of the Year, while Carney also received the Provan-Summons Medal as the people’s player of the year, as voted for by fans on <br><br> The 2010 Dally M Team of the Year and award winners are: <br><br> Fullback: Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra Dragons) <br><br> Winger: Akuila Uate (Newcastle Knights) <br><br> Centre: Jamie Lyon (Manly Sea Eagles) <br><br> Five-eighth: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters) <br><br> Halfback: Scott Prince (Gold Coast Titans) <br><br> Lock: Luke Lewis (Penrith Panthers) <br><br> Second Row: Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos) <br><br> Prop: David Shillington (Canberra Raiders) <br><br> Hooker: Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)* <br><br> Captain: Braith Anasta (Sydney Roosters) <br><br> Coach: Brian Smith (Sydney Roosters) <br><br> Rep Player: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm) <br><br> Rookie: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos) <br><br> Top Point-scorer: Michael Gordon (Penrith Panthers) <br><br> Top Try-scorer: Akuila Uate (Newcastle Knights) <br><br> Toyota Cup Player of the Year: Tariq Sims (Brisbane Broncos) <br><br> Provan-Summons People’s Choice: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters) <br><br> Peter Frilingos Memorial ‘Headline ‘Moment Award: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels), headline of ‘All Aboard’ following his 90m try against Penrith. <br><br> Under Dally M voting guidelines, the positional award winners are voted for by a panel of 12 experts including Channel 9s Andrew Johns, Brad Fittler and Wally Lewis, Fox Sports’ Laurie Daley, Greg Alexander and Gary Belcher, Sky NZ’s Daryl Halligan and The Daily Telegraph’s Andrew Webster, Dean Ritchie, Josh Massoud, Nick Walshaw and Barry Toohey. <br><br> The top-three vote-getters in the overall Dally M Medal count automatically win the positional award for which they have been nominated. <br><br> Last year’s Dally M medallist, Jarryd Hayne, again made headlines tonight, winning The Daily Telegraph’s Peter Frilingos Memorial Award for ‘Headline Moment of the Year’ for his 90-metre try against Penrith that inspired the story ‘All Aboard’. <br><br> Broncos prop Tariq Sims was named Toyota Cup Player of the Year, marking the second time a Brisbane player has won the award in its first three years. Sims tonight received a $3,000 education grant from Toyota as part of his award. <br><br> *Robbie Farah is the only player from the 2010 Team of the Year to have previously won a Dally M positional award (2007).
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners