You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Kangaroo hopefuls will have the chance to impress Four Nations selectors this weekend when they line up in the Prime Minister's XIII to take on the Kumuls in Papua New Guinea. <br><br> The Australian representative team's coach Mal Meninga said a few of the players would be in contention for next month's Four Nations event and have the opportunity to push their case in the annual post-season event at Lloyd Robson Oval on Sunday. <br><br> Meninga, who has coached the PMXIII team since 2006, said he was impressed with the 2010 line-up which is a mix of "experience, ethusiasm and speed" and includes players such at the Knights' Akuila Uate, Cowboys fullback Matt Bowen, big men David Taylor (Rabbitohs) and Tony Williams (Eagles), Bulldogs hooker Michael Ennis, NRL rookie of the Year Matt Gillett (Broncos) and his team-mate Corey Parker as captain. <br><br> North Queenland Cowboys utility Anthony Watts was a late inclusion on Wednesday to replace the Knights' Jarrod Mullen who was ruled out with injury. <br><br> "All of the squads I have had over the years have been great," said Meninga. "A few of the guys are in contention for the Four Nations ... and this sure beats training. <br><br> "A lot of the players tend to be a little appehensive about this trip, but go home having really enjoyed themselves. It is for a good cause with the work we do on the health initiatives." In fact Meninga believes the result of the match is secondary to the key purpose which he sees as the work the team does with the Australian Government to help promote Papua New Guinea’s fight against HIV, AIDS and violence against women. "I am not results driven; I am attitude driven," Meninga said. "The focal point of this trip is delivering an important health message. "As long as they have the right attitude and show respect for our key purpose, we will have achieved our goals." <br><br> Under Meninga, the Australians have had three wins and one draw against the Kumuls - 28-8 (2006), 24-all (2007), 53-30 (2008) and 42-12 (2009). <br><br><b> The team: Chris Bailey, Tony Williams, Manly Sea Eagles; Matthew Bowen, Willie Tonga, Anthony Watts, North Queensland Cowboys, Luke Douglas, Kade Snowden, Cronulla Sharks; Michael Ennis, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs; Blake Ferguson, Cronulla Sharks; Matt Gillett, Corey Parker (C), Brisbane Broncos; Micheal Luck, James Maloney, Warriors; Tim Mannah, Ben Smith, Parramatta Eels; Chris Sandow, David Taylor, South Sydney Rabbitohs; Akuila Uate, Newcastle Knights. </b>
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners