You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Australian Rugby League Commission Chief Executive Mr David Gallop is one of three community leaders today appointed for the first time to judge the 2012 NSW Woman of the Year Awards.

The NSW Minister for Women, the Hon. Pru Goward MP, made the announcement at Parliament House in line with celebrations for International Women’s Day today.

Minister Goward will lead a selection panel including Mr Gallop, Co-founder of Shoes of Prey and Sneaking Duck, Ms Jodie Fox, and The Salvation Army’s Director - Mission and Resources Social, Major Paul Moulds AM. Daily Telegraph writers Jeni O’Dowd and Cath Webber will also be participating on the panel.

Nominations are now open and the community will be able to vote online at from April 19, after a short list is selected for the People’s Choice: Community Hero Award. The winners of the People’s Choice Award and NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year Award will be announced in May.

Mr Gallop said he was proud to be invited to be involved in such a prestigious award, which gives the community an opportunity to recognise the important role and achievements of women in NSW.

“There are so many great examples in Rugby League alone of inspiring and motivated women at all levels of our game from professionals to volunteers and it is the same in the wider community across the state,” Mr Gallop said.

“It is important to recognise and celebrate their achievements, just as we do for the thousands of women involved in our game through our annual Harvey Norman Women In League Round and our Rugby League One Community Awards.”

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners