You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Manly’s Jamie Buhrer is the surprise inclusion in the NSW side named on Sunday to take on Queensland in the opening game of the State of Origin series in Melbourne.

Blues coach Ricky Stuart today named four debutants including Buhrer, Cronulla's Todd Carney, North Queensland's James Tamou and Manly's Tony Williams for the clash on Wednesday, May 23.

Manly giant Williams has not played a game since he was suspended for a dangerous tackle in round 3, while Tamou will make his debut for NSW after playing for the Kangaroos three weeks ago.

The NSW team was today announced in alphabetical order:

Greg Bird

Jamie Buhrer

Todd Carney

Ben Creagh

Robbie Farah

Paul Gallen (Captain)

Jarryd Hayne

Michael Jennings

Luke Lewis

Trent Merrin

Josh Morris

Mitchell Pearce

Brett Stewart

Glenn Stewart

James Tamou

Tony Williams

Akuila Uate

The Queensland team will be announced on Monday at 6:45pm.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners