Official View: Eels penalty was missed
Referees co-coach Stuart Raper answers your questions from Round 12 of the NRL Telstra Premiership.
Could the Eels have been awarded a penalty in the dying minutes of their clash with the Dragons for a chaser being taken out?
It should have been a penalty awarded to the Eels. It was not picked up by the tough judge and the referees erred on that decision.
What are your thoughts on the try awarded to Geoff Daniela in Panthers clash with the Sea Eagles?
There is an element of doubt to the try, we would have preferred that the decision came back - Try; Benefit of the doubt. We believe it was a try, but we think that a Benefit of Doubt ruling would have better reflected the decision.
Should the referee have gone to the video referee when the Cowboys claimed a try against the Wests Tigers – did they get this call right?
The decision is 100% correct. I have freeze-framed this and they got the call right. The referee is always encouraged to make decisions if they are in a good position and are certain what has happened. The referee got the right decision here. We encourage referees to make calls, but if there is doubt they should send it to the video referee.
Do you agree with the decision against James Segeyaro for a double movement?
There is always a hand on James Segeyaro, the arm carrying the ball hits the ground and then Segeyaro promotes the ball over the tryline. Therefore the tackle is complete and it is a double movement.