You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Fans have the opportunity to vote for the player they believe deserves the game’s most prestigious community service award!

Dene Halatau (Bulldogs), Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys) and Akuila Uate (Knights) are amongst 15 finalists for Rugby League’s 2012 Ken Stephen Medal presented by Telstra and you have until 11:59pm next Monday (13 August, 2012) to vote for them via

Awarded to a player who demonstrates service to the game, both on and off the field, the Ken Stephen Medal has been won by some of Rugby League’s finest players including Nathan Hindmarsh, Jason Stevens, David Peachey, Preston Campbell, Hazem El Masri, Andrew Ryan and Sam Thaiday.

Established in 1988, the medal is named after the late Ken Stephen, who dedicated more than 28 years to Rugby League as a player, community advocate and administrator.

NRL players spend in excess of 28,000 hours in the community each year and there’s a special group of players that continually go above and beyond the call of duty - this is what the Telstra Ken Stephen Medal aims to recognise!

The other finalists include Jharal Yow Yeh (Broncos), Terry Campese (Raiders), Ben Ross (Sharks), Scott Prince (Titans), Matt Duffie (Storm), Tim Mannah (Eels), Tim Grant (Panthers), Jason Nightingale (Dragons), Anthony Minichiello (Roosters), Elijah Taylor (Warriors) and Keith Galloway (Wests Tigers).

Make your vote count and decide which player you think deserves the most esteemed accolade for community service in Rugby League!

The winner will be announced at the Sixth Annual One Community Awards at Sydney’s Town Hall on September 24 and will receive $5,000 and $5,000 for their favourite charity.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners