You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dragons Heritage Round.

The St George Illawarra Dragons are a club steeped in history and tradition.

The St George Dragons club was founded in 1921 and the club has won 16 Premierships, including a world record 11 consecutive titles between 1956 and 1966. The Dragons have produced close to 70 internationals including three of the game's Immortals - Reg Gasnier, Johnny Raper and Graeme Langlands.

The Illawarra Steelers were founded in 1980 and had five players represent Australia. Six Steelers also represented NSW in State of Origin, while four represented Queensland.

The Dragons and Steelers merged to form St George Illawarra in 1998.

The iconic Red V is one of the most famous and recognisable brands and jerseys in world sport and something that players and supporters alike wear with pride.

The St George Illawarra Dragons are Bound by History – History Bound.




Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners