You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Members of the 2016 National Youth Competition Team of the Year.

Emerging NRL stars Kalyn Ponga (Cowboys), Jaydn Su'A (Broncos), Gideon Gela-Mosby (North Queensland Cowboys), Robert Jennings (Penrith Panthers) and Luciano Leilua (St George Illawarra Dragons) are among the players honoured in the 2016 Holden Cup Team of the Year today.

The team was announced at Monday's 2016 NRL Telstra Premiership Finals Series Launch at Allianz Stadium.

NRL Head of Football Brian Canavan said 90 percent of players who made the Holden Cup Team of the Year went on to play in the NRL.

"It's become clear that the Holden Cup Team of the Year is a virtual preview of the next batch of NRL talent," Mr Canavan said.

"In fact a number of this year's team have already made their mark in the NRL.

"But just as important as their NRL statistics, I am also pleased to see the education and training that these players are undertaking.

"Last year's Team of the Year included Tom Trjbojevic, Ashley Taylor, Te Maire Martin and Latrell Mitchell.

"I'm looking forward to see what this next group of players do in the NRL."

This year's team joins an honour roll that includes some of the NRL's most talented stars, including Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Valentine Holmes, Daly-Cherry Evans, Ben Barba, Kieran Foran, Marika Koroibete, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Ben Matulino, Dane Gagai, Jesse Bromwich, Jason Taumololo, Shaun Fensom, Tariq Sims, Gareth Widdop, Ben Hunt, Trent Merrin, David Klemmer, Dylan Napa, James Segeyaro, Konrad Hurrell, Luke Brooks and Bryce Cartwright.

The 2016 Holden Cup Team of the Year is: 

FullbackKalyn PongaCowboysBachelor of Education, JCU
WingGideon Gela-MosbyCowboysCert IV in Youth Work + Work
CentreRobert JenningsPanthersCert III: Career Orientated Participation
CentreNick CotricRaidersHSC Erindale College
WingJoseph ManuRoostersCert III: Career Orientated Participation
Five-eighthTyrone MayPanthersDiploma: Social Science, Counselling + Teacher's Aide
HalfbackTroy DarganEelsBachelor Business & Property Management, WSU
PropAlex TwalEelsBachelor Of Business & Commerce
HookerBrandon SmithCowboysBuilding/Construction Labourer
PropOliver ClarkPanthersBachelor of Physiotherapy, ACU
Second-RowLuciano LeiluaDragonsConstruction/Scaffolding Labourer
Second-RowJaydn Su'ABroncosBachelor of Secondary Education, QUT
LockNat ButcherRoostersDiploma of Financial Planning
InterchangeJayden BraileySharksBachelor of Exercise & Sports Science, ACU
InterchangeMatthew DuftyDragonsCert III Community Recreation 
InterchangeTyrell FuimaonoEelsBachelor Business & Commerce, WSU
InterchangeDylan EdwardsPanthersBachelor of Health and Science
CoachCameron CiraldoPanthers 


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners