You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Matt Cecchin and Gerard Sutton will referee the 2017 NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final this Sunday, 1 October between Melbourne Storm and North Queensland Cowboys at ANZ Stadium.

NRL general manager officiating Tony Archer said Cecchin and Sutton had been the best referees through the Finals Series and deserved their place in the decider.

"Matt and Gerard have experience in big games. They also have experience refereeing together in big games," Archer said.

"They worked very well together in the State of Origin series, so we know they work well together on the biggest stages.

"They are the best referees for the job and I am very confident that they will officiate the game well on Sunday."

Cecchin refereed in the 2011 and 2016 grand finals, while Sutton refereed in the 2014 and 2015 deciders.

The match officials for the grand final are:
Lead Referee: Matt Cecchin
Assist Referee: Gerard Sutton
Senior Review Official: Bernard Sutton
Review Official: Ben Galea
Touch Judges: Nick Beashel and Chris Butler
Standby Referee: Ben Cummins
Standby Touch Judge: Brett Suttor

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners